Buzz commig fromt the bridge

pmike

Reaction score
Although I've been setting up floyds for 15 years, I'm quite new to setup of fixed bridges. The problem is I'm having a buzz-sound coming from the bridge of my Les Paul, mostly from the D G en B string, fretted and not-fretted.

I have lowered the bridge as it came with very high action and I lowered the tailpiece as well up the point the high and low E just don't touch the back ridge of the bridge to obtain a bridge-tail angle as big as possible.

What are possible sources of bridge buzz ? Never had that problem on floyds.

bridge_25.jpg

zeppelin101

Reaction score
It happened on my epi. It could be a loose saddle. I ended up replacing my bridge.

pmike

Reaction score
I initially thought it would be some kind of play between the saddle and the screw wire or something, but I wouldn't think that would happen on an instrument of that price/class.

Hogman49

Reaction score
It happened on my R9. Like a ringing type buzz on my G string down by the bridge. Turned out to be a loose saddle. I re-adjusted it when doing a setup on the guitar, made sure the screw put enough pressure to keep it from moving, and it's gone. The saddle was actually rattling. Didn't come through the amp, but it was annoying as hell. I've had this happen on other guitars, and it went away when I changed the strings, luckily. Hope this helps. Good luck.

MesaBoogie

Reaction score
Could be a badly fitted slot or the retainer wire (there is one for each saddle) that rattles.

If it is the saddle that's loose, how can you fix it? (it happens on my guitar as well :-/).

Grtz,

Mesa.

starjag

Reaction score
It happened on my epi. It could be a loose saddle. I ended up replacing my bridge.

Yes, sometimes this is the only alternative. Regardless of the price of the guitar, some bridges are just not up to spec.

pmike

Reaction score