Building A Les Paul

Andy475

Reaction score
Hey everyone!
I'm only new here (as you may be able to tell). I'm still figuring out how the website works and all that jazz. I'm in my final year of school and building a Les Paul guitar and I'm very excited but I want to get all the help I can get too! I have already cut the Mahogany in half and I will soon be cutting the inlays. I would like to start this first post as an introduction and then hopefully post any questions or struggles I might have in the hopes that I can receive some awesome advice!

I have done a lot of research previous to this post but I am more than happy to learn and receive any tips/advice with making a guitar. I hope you are all safe and well in these tough times!

Huge thanks,
Andy

ARandall

Reaction score
The best thing to do is research the build threads on this section of the forum. Thats basically better than anything else as its a visual step by step of 'how-to'. There are even some video builds by Freddy G
Then you need plans - and with those you will have every dimension of 'what to'.

Andy475

Reaction score
The best thing to do is research the build threads on this section of the forum. Thats basically better than anything else as its a visual step by step of 'how-to'. There are even some video builds by Freddy G
Then you need plans - and with those you will have every dimension of 'what to'.
Thank you for the advice man! What I have so far are the plans, contour lines courtesy of Exnihilo, about 3-4 pages of notes based off of Freddy Gabrsek's youtube documentary and then the Mahogany, Fretboard blank, inlays, and truss rod. I'm going slow for it so I can take my time with each and every step.

I'll start looking through this forum now and collect anything useful (most likely all of it haha). Thank you for your help!

Brek

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score