BSM Treble Booster Power Supply

terriblebmx

Reaction score
Hey guys, I purchased a BSM "metal" treble booster. Even though I don't necessarily play heavy metal.
I'm more of a Frank Zappa, Tony Iommi, Alvin Lee type of player. Regardless, I purchased this pedal and was interested in knowing If I can source a 9V DC power supply to substitute the 9V battery that it uses. I constantly go through batteries. Only thing is is that the pedal doesn't contain a 9V power supply socket. I'd have to custom make it into the pedal. Is there a reason why there isn't a power supply socket? Maybe because of feedback?
Sorry if it's a newb question. I'm new to pedals. Thanks!

morbidalex666

Reaction score
Firstly, you shouldn't go through batteries like you describe, with a pedal that draws so little current. You just have to unplug the input jack when you stop playing so that the battery is disconnected.
This is a germanium based treble booster you have. These pedals are notorous for their noise level, even when using batteries, which provide way cleaner power than most power supplies out there.

My suggestion is to leave this pedal alone. Modding it will reduce its value and the resulting sound will probably not be as nice, as the pedal is designed to run on batteries only.

You can always look for a modern alternative (like tha Catalinbread Naga Viper) if you definitely will use a power supply solution.

Cheers!

terriblebmx

Reaction score
Firstly, you shouldn't go through batteries like you describe, with a pedal that draws so little current. You just have to unplug the input jack when you stop playing so that the battery is disconnected.
This is a germanium based treble booster you have. These pedals are notorous for their noise level, even when using batteries, which provide way cleaner power than most power supplies out there.