Broken Headstock

leofender55

Reaction score
Anyone have a Les Paul with a broken & repaired headstock that they want to show or comment on? I got a great deal a while back from my local GC on a real nice Standard in Desertburst that someone dropped at the store and broke the headstock off of. They had someone do a repair on it, which is stable but not very well finished. It plays amazingly well and is one of my favorites. The pic doesn't show it well, but it has some nice 3D flame on it. The others in the pic are my CS-356 & my G0. As a long time woodworker I can attest that decent repairs (dowel or biscuits) can end up stronger than the original wood grain. There are some great deals out there if you don't mind having a wounded warrior in the fold. IMG_0246.jpg

mchoate1

Reaction score
Just me, But I would never buy one... don't care how good they sound...

paulgibson

Reaction score
I would not buy one unless it was dirt cheap. Don't care how good the repair is.

Posted from Mylespaul.com App for Android

Kalamazuu

Reaction score
I'd buy one.
If done well I see no problem with it, and it'll save some money to boot.

Salamae

Reaction score
I've owned a guitar with a repaired headstock and there were no issues. I'd have no problem getting another one but the price has to reflect it - like half or less.

Tim Plains

Reaction score
I'm glad people are superficial because this sat for much longer then it should have and I got it for a great price.

Of course, dumb me breaks it a second time.
It's been three years since the second break.
Solid as a rock. :thumb:

leofender55

Reaction score
That's a nice clean looking repair. I'd never have mine fixed and try to sell it as unbroken. It is what it is. I'd much rather have a Standard or other with a repair than a Studio. Just my preference.

bluebox

Reaction score