Bridge pickup volume pot problem

Netwarrior

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I've a problem with my '10 LP standard plus honeyburst that I purchased at the end of may.
Last night, while I was playing at very low volume, I noticed that the bridge volume pot was not affecting the volume at all, contrary to the neck one that was very touch-responsive.
I don't really know if this problem was present from the beginning since I usually keep the pickups at the maximum volume.
During the weekend I'm going to open the control cavity in order to check the solder joints and measure the pot resistance with a multimeter to see if it's varying its value while turning the knob.
I've a good knowledge about electronic circuits but I'm new to guitar and to guitar playing in general so I would like you to point out all the possible causes for this problem and suggest the relative fixings.

Thank you very much.

olstrat

Reaction score
I had a similar problem with my Classic US Goldtop. Returned it to the dealer for warranty repair. They even loaned me a Gibson Les Paul Studio to use while they had mine. No cost to me and no issue with the process. According to them they replaced a selector switch and repaired some connections/solders.

Diocletian

Reaction score
Check there are no loose wires and if it looks alright just replace the pot. You can buy Alpha pots dirt cheap and it's a quick, easy job.

However, bear in mind the guitar doesn't really drop drastically in volume when you turn the volume down - it actually loses some gain, while remaining pretty much at the same volume level, confusingly.
It could be you're just looking for something that isn't really meant to happen in the first place.

Netwarrior

Reaction score
However, bear in mind the guitar doesn't really drop drastically in volume when you turn the volume down - it actually loses some gain, while remaining pretty much at the same volume level, confusingly.