Better router bits. Everyone needs them.

cmjohnson

Reaction score
I've been using routers since I was a kid. I guess it's been close to 40 years since my first attempt at making neat holes in wood, which didn't go so well, of course. Who ever was good with a router at the first attempt?

My experiences with router bits have usually been frustrating. HSS bits are
OK for a few minutes and then they're dull and start burning wood.

Carbide tipped router bits last longer but their rate of material removal is slow.

I'm not just a luthier, (or at least, an experienced guitar building hobbyist) I'm also an amateur machinist.

For cutting aluminum, I've been using high helix solid carbide end mills in my milling machine for a long time.

Even accounting for the much lower RPM range, I noted that with good
end mills I can remove aluminum from the workpiece at rates comparable
to what I expect out of conventional brazed carbide router bits.

So I got curious one day and installed one of my 1/2 inch high helix solid carbide end mills in my Hitachi TR-12 plunge router and started to play
with the use of these end mills in wood.

Wow. Unbelievable improvement. The difference in the rate of material
removal has to be seen to be believed.

Since trying this once, I have never since then used anything BUT high
helix solid carbide end mills for any routing jobs IF I could find the end
mill design that suited my needs for guitar making.

They do cost more but they deliver bigger cuts with less force required,
give smoother finishes, and outlast your standard brazed carbide router bit many times over.

A limitation is that they aren't available with a bearing on the top end of them as it's rather difficult to tap or thread carbide.

I've also found that there are a few brands that work best. The absolute