Best City for Guitar Shopping?

gibsonofabitch

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar for 20 years this month and to celebrate, I thought I'd indulge and splurge a little bit and get a custom shop gibson. The only problem is, in the bay area, there are no stores that really have any inventory of gibson custom shop guitars, maybe a white les paul custom or a white sg custom reissue

With that being said, which city has a legitimate/the best gibson scene? The two that stick out to me are Los Angeles and Nashville. I dont mind making a trip out of it. The only caveat is that they have customs and plenty of them.

Thanks for your input!

ErictheRed

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Definitely Nashville of the places I've visited. Maybe somewhere on the west coast if you're more into Fenders, Portland was good as well.

Thunder Dump

That tickles
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
+1 on Nashville. Lots of quality choices.

cooltouch

Reaction score
My first reaction was also Nashville, but another option is that huge guitar show that is held in Dallas each May. Unfortunately, this year's show has come and gone. Next year's is May 5-7. Here in Houston, the city's largest Gibson dealer -- and at one time the largest in the USA -- makes a point of attending that show every year. Apparently, they do very well at the show.