BB King Guitar Lessons from the man himself!

Lester

Reaction score
BB King going through his influences and teaching you to play like BB King, video link below. Five videos in the series, the first one has links in the comments to the others.

Maybe I'm actually a newb but this helped me a lot in getting closer to his sound and some early blues stuff I didn't know I didn't know. I think if I get through all five videos I'll be fairly good his sound and maybe twice the blues player. That guy had some roots!

He does love to bend i.e. "Need to play an F at the 12th fret on the high E? Play a D at the 9th and bend it up." Etc. A third of his notes are bends up of an off scale note instead of the note in the scale. Hard to get used to since my fingers default to the scale notes. But, it sounds a lot better and clearly closer to the old blues masters. Also index finger bends.

Of course, lots of vibrato, but we knew that. All fingers. But something I never caught on to before, even though I saw him live and up-close a few of times, is that he doesn't even use his thumb to hold the neck most of the time. The vibrato is free form on the neck, maybe with a little of the thumb tendon holding the back sometimes. Actually easy to to. I already free-formed a bit previously with no thumb to reach the upper threats on my LP (shorter fingers) but this is a step beyond that.

Worth your time if you're not already a guru. Worth eveyone's time just to listen to this true gentleman:

B.B. King Clinic 1/5 - Influences - YouTube

PS. After doing this for an hour or so, my fingers feel a bit like a new player. Fingertips are abused from the hard bends.
PPS. He plays 10's and considers them thin compared to what he used in the early days...Billy Gibbons might have gone down to 8's after talking with him, but BB considers 10's thin.

huw

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
I've recently been revisiting that video series too. It's marvellous stuff alright.