Bandsaw advice...

AndrewLP1081996

Reaction score
I'm thinking about a bandsaw for Christmas. What would be the minimum requirements to use it for guitar building? I would use it for cutting out bodies necks etc. my price range is about 200-250$ I've never delt with these so any advice is appreciated, thanks Andrew.

evolved_insanity

Reaction score
Save more money and befriend a woodworker with a good one or borrow someone else's while you do save more money.

All kidding aside, that is a very, very small budget for a decent bandsaw. I wish you luck in your search.

Claymore

Reaction score
I have been using the Rikon 10" for 4 years now, no issues.
If you aren't planning on doing any resaw, and just cutting jigs, the odd body and neck profiles, it works fine.
You just need a good blade - like the Viking...

tnt423

Reaction score
You can find some very nice old cast iron units for that or less. The key is to be patient. I found my 1920-30s Wallace Snowflake for jut the price of going to get it. Wired up a new switch and put a new blade in and started building. Only has a 9" vertical resaw capacity, but I find that more than adequate most times. I have heard of a lot of people getting these for $50-70. Be care full that you don't get one with a three phase motor unless you have three phase power available or are willing to convert it to a belt drive and put a motor down under the lower wheel. You can find info on these old cast iron beasts at vintagemachinery.org. I believe there is classified section there for machines up for sale.
Good luck and enjoy the holidays! :fingersx:

dougk

Reaction score
You sure as hell aren't going to find a new one for your budget... but that's not really a bad thing either. Technology hasn't really changed about bandsaws over the years but quality has. Often older is better.

AndrewLP1081996

Reaction score
Ok thanks guys I will keep an eye out on Craigslist etc. are benchtop bandsaws powerful enough to handle guitar work?