Attenuator Suggestions?

TheWelder

Reaction score
I love the sound of my Deluxe Reverb on full volume, but it's way too loud for most applications. I've never used an attenuator before, but I'm kicking around the idea now. I know all the YouTube flavor of the month guys have the OX, but I'm not looking to spend that kind of cash.

Any suggestions? Looking to keep the tonal characteristics and feel of the amp the same, but just at a comfortable volume.

fry

Reaction score
I really like the Dr. Z Brake Lite for its simplicity. They’re not cheap, but most high-end attenuators are not going to be cheap. For no more than is involved in them, I don’t know why they all cost so much. I have a buddy that plays a Bogner Shiva that he absolutely loves. He took a chance and bought the $99 Bugera attenuator, and he said it does the job very well, he has no regrets.

tzd

Reaction score
Torpedo Captor X looks dope. Attenuator, DI, cab sim, IR loader, loadbox and is headphone ready.
However, the Captor X's attenuator has only 3 settings (2 fixed levels of attenuation): -38dB, -20dB, and 0dB , you cannot dial it down to exactly what you need.

When I used to own the original Captor (which has only -20dB attenuation), the attenuation feature was pretty much useless to me.

TheWelder

Reaction score
Leaning Weber right now. Looks like it may take a while to get one as they are on back order but I'm in no rush (still no gigs / venues to play it in my area). Any other suggestions are welcome.

dspelman

Reaction score
Any suggestions? Looking to keep the tonal characteristics and feel of the amp the same, but just at a comfortable volume.
Generally speaking, an attenuator will lose the tonal characteristics and feel of the amp it's attenuating.

There's really only one solution to reducing the volume of an amp while maintaining the original's tone and feel, but it's expensive. Google Fluxtone Speakers.

TheWelder

Reaction score