Asama Les Paul copy

Apeman

Reaction score
Hi there everyone, newbie LP player here. Nice to be onboard :)

I recently acquired an Asama Les Paul-type guitar. Any experience with these? It's made in Japan, probably late 70s, and has a tobacco burst body (top, sides and back) with a set neck. The (gold) hardware seems to be mostly Gotoh. The pickups are open blonde DiMarzio Super Distortion-type humbuckers, also marked as Gotoh on the base plates.

I think the neck is made of mahogany but the body is probably something else? The top looks like plain maple, with very subtle flaming from some angles. Could be something else though, I'm not good at identifying different woods. The bottom is similar, with the same burst paint scheme. I don't remember ever seeing mahogany that light, even though I've understood it can be fairly light when untreated.

Looking at the sides and cavities I didn't see any obvious layering (unfortunately I didn't think of looking properly when taking the pickups out). Looking at the top and the bottom, the body seems to be in two parts (split somewhat off-center).

The guitar seems fairly light for a Les Paul. I haven't weighed it but comparing to my other guitars I'd guess at something like 7.5-8lb. It's lighter than my Strat and my Squier CV Tele, and doesn't really feel much heavier than my sub-7lb Baja Tele. It could be chambered, I have no idea how to tell if that's the case. It also strikes me as being on the thin side for a Les Paul, but unfortunately I have nothing to compare to.

The fingerboard feels pretty flat compared to my other guitars, and the neck feels somewhat wide/boatish. Wider but not as deep as my Baja Tele's beck. Bending is harder than I'm used to, maybe because of lower frets or something. The action is not low enough that it should cause bending issues, that said the nut seems cut slightly too low on the treble side. There was some buzzing close to the nut, which was relieved by a slight truss rod adjustment.