Army green paint help

AndrewLP1081996

Reaction score
Hello everyone it's been a while since I've been on here but I'm looking for advice on paint for my build. I'm doing a les Paul jr single cut(of sorts) and the original plan was yellow with the don't tread on me snake logo. I have changed my mind to doing the guitar in an army green(od green jeep green etc.) with the snake logo in white kinda like the old ww2 air planes and tanks. I think that would be a unique paint scheme. However I'm trying to find a paint that will look good and hold up. I want to do a matte finish and the only thing I could think of is the "camo" spray paint that krylon makes. If anyone has any suggestions or experience with anything like this feel free to comment as I am open to anything.

This is my first build been in the works for a while. Been busy with college amongst other things and I'm hoping to get it to the painting stage soon.

Thanks, Andrew

mux164

Reaction score
might be worth going to an automotive store and get them to paint match the green your after. i did it once with a blue that i wanted, since i cant get legit pelham blue i will be going to the auto store and get a couple of cans made up

AndrewLP1081996

Reaction score
The ral chart is pretty cool. Will
Keep that for future reference. I like the cabelas paint as well. I dont have a spray gun yet so I might go with the cabelas in spray cans. Don't guess there is much difference between the normal paint and spray cans. How much would a spray gun set up cost?

TheHarleyMan2

Reaction score
Depends on how much you want to fork out for a compressor and sprayer. Years ago I got a 30gal compressor kit with air tools from Walmart for about $200, and I bought an additional automotive spray gun for like $30.