Anyone ID this pickup?

M37a11

Reaction score
Hello, can anyone help ID this Gibson pickup? Based on some google searching it looks like a 70s or 80s. It has 4 wires and measures 8.47k.

drugprowlingwolf

Reaction score
Kris Ford would probably know. At first glance it looked like a plain old stamped t top but that reading seems high - I’m no expert though.

DarrellV

'I'm not stupid, you just don't understand....'
Premium Member
Reaction score
I'm gonna go with a Tim Shaw Velvet Brick!

Brass screws, plastic lead, double hole baseplate(some had single, depends what Gibson had laying around) and most important, how close the edge of the cover is to the baseplate, indicating some thickness underneath.

And the ohm reading.

Common in some early 80's SG's they gave some extra Ooomph to the bridge position.
79 'The SG' had them..

Also found in these obscure gems...
1589833583267.png

So I'm dating it to the same time period, early to mid 80's...

Last edited:

DarrellV

Premium Member
Reaction score
Kris Ford would probably know. At first glance it looked like a plain old stamped t top but that reading seems high - I’m no expert though.
He would too! God how I miss him!!!

I'm grateful for the time I got to share with him and the knowledge he shared..

The guy was a Gibson encyclopedia and generous to a fault! He had parts for anything!!

He sent me these to help complete my 82 overhaul free of charge! Period correct too!!

drugprowlingwolf

Reaction score
Whoa whoa whoa - I've been out of the loop in terms of posing big time.

Is he okay? Holy cow.

DarrellV

Premium Member
Reaction score
Whoa whoa whoa - I've been out of the loop in terms of posing big time.

Is he okay? Holy cow.
I don't know! He was gone before the last upgrade and even his user name seems to be gone. It doesn't come up with the @ sign....

I just checked, his account is till here, but it's been a long time since he posted.
1589845898847.png