Anyone here use Blue Apron or similar service?

PeteK

Reaction score
Since my wife is getting more pregnant by the day, I've been doing most of the cooking and grocery shopping. I'm an ok cook, but I work 12 hours a day and don't really have a lot of extra time for the grocery store. So I'm curious about these meal services like Blue Apron where they send you all the fresh ingredients and a recipe and you cook it at home.

I know it's more expensive, but it seems convenient. $60 per week for 3 meals for 2 people. I have no idea about portion size, I read online anything from the 2 person plan being plenty for 4 or not enough for 1. Reviews I read, people seem to be pleased with the quality of the food. But I'd trust an MLP review over some random thing I Googled any day. I know it would be cheaper to go to the store, but I'm looking for convenience and not crap food. So has anyone here used any service like that?

DotStudio

Reaction score
My wife and I did Blue Apron for awhile but we've switched to Hello Fresh. They're both good, but Blue Apron had some drawbacks.

Blue Apron is very time consuming. They really just give you a pile of produce and you do everything by hand. Shucking corn, picking leaves off of herbs, etc. Although you still need to do much of the preparation/chopping of the produce with Hello Fresh, it's a much more time efficient.

Blue Apron is mostly gourmet food, which can be a good thing, but it didn't suit my wife's taste. There also is a very limited selection week to week. With Hello Fresh you can really customize to fit your needs. Also, being gourmet only adds to the time constraints.

Portion sizes are great for two people with both, but we tend to have more leftovers with HF.