Anyone else have trouble owning/playing a $2k guitar?

tygr1

Reaction score
I just got rid of my 2019 Gibson Classic in Translucent Red for a 2017 Epi Goldtop! I'm now a happy camper.

Something about having a 2000 dollar guitar that really didn't play as well (for me anyway) as the 17 Goldtop Trad. Pro I picked up in it's place.

I'm no pro. Not even a great player. Only play at home in my old age. I just couldn't justify my Gibson Classic sitting there. I played it regularly, but c'mon...it should be playing itself! I've had this goldtop once before and just got it back...it just says "play me!"

Can't explain it, just had to be done. Got the Epi Goldtop, a Marshall DSL40C, and $700 for the Classic. I feel lighter now...better. Go figure.

FadedLP

Reaction score
Definitely don’t spend the money if its gonna bug you. The idea is you’re paying for the increased craftsmanship and being made in merica

Brek

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Its a thing for sure. I bought stupidly expensive guitars. Not even close to being able to do them justice. Still, i am getting better, almost got rid of those awful unwanted sounds when playing with some higher gain, only taken a couple of months of really focussing on it.
I bought a richwood artist re125 in 2019 and prolly should have stuck with that. That being said i would have spent the cash on useless stuff of no real value, so at least what i have has value for future sale if money ever needed.

Last edited:

Guitarhack

Reaction score
I don't necessarily have an aversion to certain guitar brands because of how much they cost. I've got some expensive guitars and I've got some less expensive guitars. The common theme for them is that I enjoy playing them and they sound and look good (IMHO). I'm willing to spend money on my guitars and gear without fretting because its my main hobby. I'm not a professional but I've been playing for over 40 years and it brings me some measure of peace and joy.