An Amazing Find! 1960 Gibson Les Paul Burst!

Chymore45

Reaction score
Hello everyone! My Grandfather passed away recently and my Father and I have been going through his house to get it ready to sell. I came across this guitar in his closet wrapped in a blanket. I had no Idea what I found, I have zero knowledge about guitars. I posted a few pictures on a FB group and the post just exploded. Come to find out it's an original Les Paul 1960 Burst! I figured I would share it with this group and welcome any advice/information. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

Gtarzan81

Reaction score
Hello everyone! My Grandfather passed away recently and my Father and I have been going through his house to get it ready to sell. I came across this guitar in his closet wrapped in a blanket. I had no Idea what I found, I have zero knowledge about guitars. I posted a few pictures on a FB group and the post just exploded. Come to find out it's an original Les Paul 1960 Burst! I figured I would share it with this group and welcome any advice/information. Thanks in advance!
Your Grandpa just left you something worth enough money to buy a house, assuming it is the real deal.
Know that it's worth a LOT of money, and decide wisely what to do with it.

rockstar232007

Reaction score
That's f'n amazing! Looks legit, and if "restored" correctly, could be worth a shit-ton of money?

Awesome grandpa you had, and our sincerest condolences for his passing.

Just be warned, that there are a LOT of "professionals" that will come out of the woodwork, who will try to give you "advice" on what to do with it, especially since you're not a player, or very knowledgeable about vintage guitars. So be VERY careful!

Keep us posted on your journey into the world of the 'burst. Congrats on the find!

mudface

Non-Deadbeat/Non-Prominent
Double Platinum Supporter
Premium Member
Reaction score
I hope that your grandfather lived a fantastic life and enjoyed every minute :cheers: