Ampmaker WF-55 kit speaker configuration ..

bcguitars74

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new in this section of the forums, I usually hang out in the "Luthiers Corner" but have been doing a bit of research as I've got the WF-55 kit coming in the next week or so .. I've been itching to build an amp for ages and I saw that Ampmaker just reopened, literally today!!

Amps are new to me but I'm fairly handy on the woodwork side so I'll build my own cab and so on - I'm just wondering what people's preferences are regarding speaker configuration ..

I thought to build this into a combo for easier portability and at the moment I'm considering the following: 2 x 10" combo (like my Vox V15) or 1 x 12" - I also thought to make a panel so that I could have a closed back if I wanted to mic up.

Is this overkill for a 5w amp? And if so should I rather build it as a separate cab so I can use it with other amps?

I'd love to hear what other people use !

Thanks
Ben

Cjsinla

Reaction score
From what I can tell, your kit is a 5f1 clone. Post some links to the site if you please. It might be helpful to see all the parts. FWIW, I built my 5f1 as a combo with a single 10” speaker. But I think my chassis is different than the one in your kit.

E47FC6A0-C403-4A6C-9E08-63E74C905C0B.jpeg

bcguitars74

Reaction score
Hiya, thanks for replying! Yep it's a 5f1 clone, the page is here: WF-55 Kit. This is primarily for home use, I have a Peavey Classic 30 for gigs but I can't even turn it up to 1 in my flat .. :/

I've been looking at speaker reviews all day and I'm more confused than before :) I'd like something with some soul, not harsh or tinny, for playing a bit of blues or fusion stuff but still with a bit of bite.