Amp tech just told me De-Oxit is a bad idea as a contact cleaner

100LL

Reaction score
So years ago a vacuum tube reseller in Denver that I was visiting told me he likes to spray some deoxIT on the pins of tubes. Ever since that's what I always do, in addition to other contacts that can see some oxidation.

Well I was just chatting with a local amp tech who really dislikes the stuff. Very much discourages its use saying that it leaves a film that is unwanted and difficult to remove. Instead he recommended a different thing (that I will find and post soon).

What do you all think?

ErictheRed

Reaction score
I'm an electrical engineer and I wholeheartedly agree. I'm also a former USAF avionics technician, and you would never use this on aircraft electrical mating surfaces.

All "electrical contact cleaners" are are some kind of alcohol with other stuff mixed in. The other stuff is put there because pure alcohol is actually a little dangerous, especially under pressure. However, that other stuff isn't as volatile so it doesn't evaporate away cleanly.

Those pressurized spray cans are really just for the average consumer to easily spray onto mating surfaces, probably only one time when they go to make the one-time repair or replacement needed to get something working again. They aren't for tube sockets and pins that are going to be cleaned and changed multiple times in their lifetime. They're also for situations where you can't quite reach a mating surface inside a device, so you just blast it with this fire hose pressurized spray can, basically.

All you really need is isopropyl alcohol. You can buy industrial strength stuff that is higher percentage alcohol, but the 70% alcohol (and 30% water) solution that you find anywhere is perfectly fine and what I use. Just don't spill it everywhere and let it evaporate completely before mating the contacts. You can blow some dry air over it to speed up the evaporation (with a heat gun on room temp or hair dryer).

Who