Amp and pedal volume

MichaelAndrew3435

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a C5 with an OD pedal for OD tones at lower volumes. If I'm correct, I get more drive from the amp at a lower volume with the volume on the OD pedal turned up right? I'm curious to know if this is safe for the amplifier. Does this push the amp too hard? I practically have the amp volume at 0. I'm doing the same with a fuzz pedal. Also, I accidentally used the fuzz and OD pedal at the same time and heard a really nasty squealing sound. Can running these two pedals together damage an amp?

dbagmaximus

Reaction score
I've been wondering this for a while as well. I doubt it would harm anything because at low volumes you'd be using the pre-amp tubes more (right?) and they never run as hot as power tubes so I imagine you can push them hard before anything bad happens. I'm no expert, this is just what I'm assuming

MichaelAndrew3435

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Also, in order to get the desired fuzz tone, I want the volume on the Fuzz face to be turned all the way up. My OD is turned up passed half, and my compression pedal is turned up all the way. In order to hear my compression pedal I need to turn the amp up higher, but when the amp is turned up higher like this, then my fuzz becomes too loud. I'm not using both pedals at the same time.

MichaelAndrew3435

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'd like to be able to switch through my pedals with each using the same volume. I have to adjust the volume with each one because some are louder than others. Is there a way to fix this?

mudfinger

Thanks for the memories.
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Most amps can take a couple volts at the input, no problem.

You have pedals with no output control?

CHUNKYNECK

Reaction score