Almost time for a new recording computer Mac or PC?

decoy205

Reaction score
I’ve been using my bro’s Mac Pro since about 2013 and before that I used a 2005 G5 tower.

The Mac Pro is starting to really slow down and become unreliable and I can’t really update the software anymore since the hardware is old.

I love the interface and usability of the MacOS and I’m used to it. But man they are sooooo expensive and basically you’re lucky to get a few years out of it until they software you out.

I used to run pro tools LE but the new pro tools is so expensive I don’t even want to deal with subscriptions. Ive been using Reaper and actually getting a little better with it. I’m open to trying new DAWs as well.

I’m thinking either a Mac laptop or a suped up PC or laptop.

I’d prefer to spend less than 2k when the time comes. Just curious what people recommend these days

Apple
pros - ease of use, software compatibility

Cons - expensive, software updates become expensive also and they eventually make the machine obsolete.

Pc

pros - cheaper, easier to make a custom machine, if it dies cheaper to replace

cons- more susceptible to viruses or malware, hardware is not as long lasting, not as familiar with using DAWs on PCs.

TLDR - Mac or PC and why?

Pappy58

Reaction score
I'd go Mac...if it's slowing down scratch and reinstall the OS...I've never had a mac not last 8-10 years...Garage Band is free and as good as any recording software out there.,...and WINBLOWS!

decoy205

Reaction score
The ones I’ve been using I got about the same 8-10 years. I’m worried about them updating the OS So much that my stuff is not compatible faster than that. If I can still get at least 5 years than Mac is still the way to go.

northernguitarguy

SWeAT hOg
Reaction score
how can you update the OS? I can’t even update google chrome or drop box on mine from 2009.