Advice on my first LP...

MorphineNoir

Reaction score
I am really interested in an Alpine White LP Custom and found one I can get a great deal on through a dealer I know (I have always wanted an Alpine White LP Custom)

However, it is 11 lbs. 6 oz.

I know LP's are known to be heavy but this seems very heavy

For some background, I am not a gigging musician - I write and record at home and play guitar sitting down

Based on that, should the guitar's weight even be a concern for me?

Thoughts? Tips? Advice?

Thank you and be well

MorphineNoir

Reaction score
You’ve got to try it in person and see if you like it. Personally I wouldn’t want something that heavy, but you wouldn’t know till you tried.

Unfortunately, my buddy is in a state halfway across the country so I would be buying it without playing it (I could return it but, I would not want to do that to him)

redcoats1976

Reaction score
can you get to a local store and try a few and see if the heavy ones are too heavy?i would try them standing up with a strap too in case later on you get tired of sitting down.i had a 13 pound LP that i had to let go...it was too damn heavy.

ehb

Chief Discombobulator
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Heavy Lesters do not bother me as I wear em on a strap whether standing or sitting so my hands/wrists/etc. are in the same place same angle every time....

W I D E and THICK leather straps.... I wear my Lesters a bit higher too.... Never understood buds that hung heavy Lesters low on narrow ass synthetic straps... That is a lot of free swinging weight... Something is gonna give over time... Maybe that's why they stand funny now that we're older.... ;)

If you want it, buy it. Get a wide ass strap though...

edro.

ArchEtech

Gold Supporting Member
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score