a question about wiring (strange behabviour of volume pots)

nioclás

Reaction score
Hi all

I think the volume pots of my brand new Standard 60s are acting in a strange way. I was wondering whether this is normal (I'm new to Les Pauls, sorry if I'm bothering you with a stupid question).

When the toggle switch is in the middle position, both pickups are active, In this case, I assume the signal from each pickup is affected by its own dedicated volume and tone pots, thus allowing me to blend the amount of signal from each pickup separately. That means, If I set the volume of the bridge p/u to 0, I'd expect to hear only the neck p/u, even though the toggle switch is in the middle.

However, this is not the case. In the middle position, both volume pots act as a master volume, i.e., if I turn any volume pot towards 0, the whole signal is being attenuated, and not just the signal of the corresponding pickup.

Does this indicate a problem with the wiring? Or is this the normal behavior for this particular model?

strayedstrater

Reaction score
TL;DR: that's normal behavior for that model.
------------------------
Most Les Pauls (and other Gibsons with 4 knobs) are wired that way. In the middle position, if you turn either volume knob to zero both pickups go silent. Zero shorts hot to ground, and with normal wiring both pickups see that short.

They aren't actually acting as identical master volumes in the middle position. If you turn the bridge pickup down partway you'll hear the tone get bassier as the neck pickup starts to predominate. Turn the bridge back up and then turn the neck pickup down and you'll hear the tone get brighter as the bridge pickup predominates.

So you can get different blends of the two pickups. You just can't turn either pickup all the way off.
--------------------------