A Modified B.B. King Blues Scale

EpiLP1985

They call me Derek.
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Lately I have been contemplating an area of focus with my playing. I am a hobbyist and not an ACTUAL musician but I’ve felt a bit stunted lately in my development.

I wanted to zero in on a few scales that I could get some serious mileage out of, mostly to enable me to play over a wide spectrum of chords progressions without memorizing a million things. Of course, the answer hit me right away: A modified B.B. King Blues Scale.

Frankly, I almost never stop listening to Live at the Regal, many of the 70’s Era B.B. King live performances and Peter Green. The Peter Green connection is strong here and this is where I decided to focus some of my attention. Peter Green uses the “B.B. Box” quite extensively but also uses a ton of Minor chord voicings and progressions in the Fleetwood Mac recordings.

The one known drawback with the use of the B.B. King Blues scale is the presence of the Natural 6th and how it creates dissonance when played over minor chords in progressions.

So, there are a few modifications that I have been messing around with. The goal is to add some extra content that I hear from B.B. King and Peter Green’s playing but also to give a player fluidity between major and minor so no dissonance occurs.

What we end up with is an Octatonic scale with a “dealer’s choice” note that flip flops when required. Let’s start with the standard B.B. King Scale in the key of A:

1 2 b3 4 5 6

Example 1.PNG

You’ll see the oft-quoted standard voicing of the “B.B. Box” starting on the 9th fret of the G string and running to the 12th fret of the High E string.

B.B. King would often add the chromatic passing note #4/b5 to this scale as well. So now we can amend the interval structure to:

1 2 b3 4 #4/b5 5 6

Example 2.PNG