57 Les Paul Special Authentication Help

tomh8

Reaction score
I’m in the process of getting more pics. The slanted serial worries me and the high dot on the i, but I did see another 57 example on reverb with a high dot. I’m no expert but the electronic cavity looks good and so does the rest from what I can tell. Please tell me what you think.
Thanks

ECD5902F-699D-432D-8F3A-FC364D2E0B8D.png 4A139E0D-C521-476E-80C1-32E687EABC06.png 8D7C33C0-65F3-454A-AAD6-52237825A85D.png 5D329C70-363F-418C-AF12-AE90CF6CD65D.png

LocoTex

Reaction score
I like the color....that wheat kind of color that some TV Gibsons get.

ESchmidt

Reaction score
Looks correct to me. Serial numbers were put on my hand, not a machine so a slightly crooked one would be somewhat normal. Also, the high dot is fairly common. I wouldn’t worry about those “issues”

Liam

V.I.P. Member
Reaction score
Have just compared all photos in detail with my '57 Special. Logo on headstock it too "right" in every other way for it to be anything other than correct, the dot on the "i" isn't something I'd care about, as they did move around a little. Almost everything else looks perfectly correct, except for that very slanted serial number. It's not that it's so slanted, the number spacing looks too wide as well, except for the gap between the first two sevens, which looks too narrow. And while it looks like the right font, possibly a tiny bit smaller than the originals. I think it's a correct guitar, but has possibly had some finishing work done and the serial number re-applied.

Not aiming for granny sucking eggs tuition, but those tuners are later repros, and different from originals. Originals have plain brass shafts. Looks a cool guitar, but that serial would trouble me a little. I just checked my '57 Junior as well. Same deal with serial. 7 - big enough space for another number - then 4 digits closer spaced.

Cavity, and everything else seems right to me.

Liam

tomh8

Reaction score