'57 conversion

tag2

Reaction score
There are a couple of things that bother me about this guitar.

The logo is correct for a later '57, but it is not a '57, so I would expect the logo to be lower.

No sign of P-90's having been in there. Could have been over routed or filled, but usually the holes remain in the tenon.

The horn looks too pointy from the front and back.

To my eyes, the tail piece and bridge look to be in the correct position.

Disclaimer: These are only photos and I am not an expert. This is just my personal opinion.

boogieongtr

Reaction score
The auction says it's a 53 or 54. It can't be a 54 or the bushing holes would have to be plugged. It might be an early 53 (with a trap tailpiece) but most of them did not have a neck angle that would work with an ABR1. The bumble bees are not right. The colors on the caps are not right. The horn looks to pointy and off.

Pete M

Reaction score
From the photos :cool: it looks like it is what he says it is - a refinished, parted out, repaired goldtop. Top finish looks original, and you can see the slight hint of a P90 route in the bridge cavity where the overspray has sunk in.

The headstock Gibson logo is a modern replacement, so therefore the headstock holly overlay was likely replaced. Combined with the stinger it has more than likely had a major headstock repair, and he says it had a heel repair too. So a neck smash at some point.

Probably had a wraptail and the holes covered up which would explain the tailpiece placement although it's hard to see where any holes were. If it was a trapeze it should have an extra ground route in the control cavity. I'd be interested to know if there were any holes by the bottom strap pin, something to resolve what tailpiece it had originally.

Hey, I like the case! :thumb:

Oh and the price seems a bit optimistic with all the issues? :hmm:

EDIT: I see it was for sale at the Dallas show as per the auction. I'm sure many checked it out in person?:

Fletch

V.I.P. Member