50’s wiring, help me understand

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
I looked up what it means physically, but more curious about how it works functionally.

I have a single cut with 50’s wiring and one of the tone pots doesn’t do much at all, in any switch position. Is this normal?
 

Mr French

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
339
Reaction score
146
I looked up what it means physically, but more curious about how it works functionally.

I have a single cut with 50’s wiring and one of the tone pots doesn’t do much at all, in any switch position. Is this normal?
Any chance you have a picture of the cavity to see if you wired it to 50s spec?

I had a customer debating on what to do and I connected some alligator clips to the pots and caps and he tried both specs.

Ended up doing 50s as he had more control with the tone knob.
 

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
the offending tone pot is on the right (guitar bottom) side
 

Attachments

  • 6B6719B0-2A9E-4937-9291-E16292AF90F7.jpeg
    6B6719B0-2A9E-4937-9291-E16292AF90F7.jpeg
    99.8 KB · Views: 36
  • 6F264A9D-37C9-4F41-9669-C78DA6D41DF9.jpeg
    6F264A9D-37C9-4F41-9669-C78DA6D41DF9.jpeg
    98 KB · Views: 39

GBLEV

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
723
Reaction score
630
It's hard to see it clearly with those pics. But from what I can tell, it appears to be wired correctly for 50's style.

It sounds like you may have a bad pot or a bad cap. Maybe not necessarily bad, as in broken, but bad as in, not a good quality. The next time you play, turn your bridge volume down to 0 and slowly turn it up. Take note to where your volume knob is at the moment you start to hear sound. If your around 3 or above, then your cap is probably not too good. As far as your pot goes, if you have a DMM, you can test your pot to make sure it's in spec.
 

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
Can I test the pots in situ or would I need to disconnect?
 

ARandall

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
16,925
Reaction score
14,825
Depends on the pots. Some have tapers that give you gradual effect throughout the range, others do the entirety of their sweep in the last bit of the turn.

If they do nothing at all then there is a fault somewhere. Either you might have a dud cap, pot or solder joint. To test you need them in situ so you can see where the disconnect lies.
 

Roxy13

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
13,109
Reaction score
33,280
This is my old guitar isn't it? If so then at least the bridge cap was 0.022uF. The neck might have been 0.015 or 0.018. I don't remember now but it should be marked on the caps.
 

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
This is my old guitar isn't it? If so then at least the bridge cap was 0.022uF. The neck might have been 0.015 or 0.018. I don't remember now but it should be marked on the caps.
yes, this is the History ZLS-100CFS I bought from you. let me get back in there and take some better pictures....see what's going on.
 

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
here‘s a better look at the tone pot and cap that is not functioning.
 

Attachments

  • 03D83622-C583-432B-8E00-0194C9B30681.jpeg
    03D83622-C583-432B-8E00-0194C9B30681.jpeg
    99.7 KB · Views: 22
  • E1E837B5-025E-4592-99F3-17048D0B11F3.jpeg
    E1E837B5-025E-4592-99F3-17048D0B11F3.jpeg
    112.1 KB · Views: 22

Roxy13

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
13,109
Reaction score
33,280
Ok, now we know that one is a 0.018 uF. I don't see anything going on with a solder joint though so I'm not sure what happened.

I did recognize my work though so I figured that was the History.
 

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
I might just buy a new harness from Mojotone instead of fool around with individual components. Should I get a short shaft or long shaft pre-wired kit?
 

o0mobius0o

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
3,619
Reaction score
4,717
Probably nothing, but maybe re-flow this joint. Soldering looks top notch otherwise.

solder.jpg
 

Roxy13

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
13,109
Reaction score
33,280
It uses short shaft pots.

Do you have a multimeter and some alligator clips so that you can test that cap and the sweep on the pot?
 

Roxy13

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
13,109
Reaction score
33,280
It also looks like those might be Alpha pots. I've used pretty much every kind of pot and cap there is so I can't remember every harness either as I've made at least 100 of them by now.

If you want I will send you another pot and cap. You would have to desolder the bus wire and desolder that old cap from the volume pot and then resolder the new one back in. I can ground the new pot and attach the cap to it if you wanted me too.
 

100LL

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
219
Reaction score
311
i’ll get a multi-meter on it later today, see what I can see.
 

Roxy13

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
13,109
Reaction score
33,280
If those are Alpha pots they are metric. So changing to US spec pots like a Mojotone probaby has would also mean enlarging the holes for the bushings and changing knobs (and pointer washers if those are on the guitar and you wanted to keep them).
 

Roxy13

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
13,109
Reaction score
33,280
And while you are at if you want to reflow that one solder joint just in case, it won't hurt anything. Just turn the pot to zero first to protect it in case it is ok. I don't think it's broken because I think the bus wire would be noticably popped off the top of the pot, but what the heck.
 

o0mobius0o

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
3,619
Reaction score
4,717
If you short the tone pot end of that cap to the ground wire, you will have maximum filter.
 

Latest Threads



Top