2017 Gibson Custom Shop Historic 1960 Les Paul MF Spec

Reaction score
Hey ya'll, I'm in fairly uncharted territory here insofar as I have limited knowledge of 'Burst' reissues. Hell, I never thought I'd be seriously considering a regular ol' Standard, much less any form of R0. Anyway, I've got an offer on the table between 40%-45% less than list (same as the sale price they had a couple weeks ago) on one of these Musician's Friend spec'd R0s:

Gibson Custom Historic 1960 Les Paul Standard PSL

In addition to the price markdown, I get 16% (as opposed to the usual 8%) kickback in MF bucks. But, despite some pretty extensive research in the last couple of weeks, I don't feel I know enough about these or any other Historics to tell if they're worth it or not. From what I've been told by my sales guy is that what separates these from the "standard" 2017 R0s is some of the wiring and that these finishes weren't offered at the time.

While I know I could scour the used market for some nice deals, the 0% for 48 months financing offer here is really the only reason I am even considering this. So, it's kind of a one-off thing.

Anyway, given my limited expertise in this area, I ask the wiser among you, is this a worthy deal on a three-year old NOS?

Gtarzan81

Reaction score
$3600 for that new is a decent deal. Used R0 go for low 3k range or so.

jamman

Reaction score
OK, i'll give some thoughts. 1st . Do you like the guitar ? Do you like the price ? since that is relative to who is paying for it . Did you look at the Dark Burst on that page listing ? It's is a lighter weight , which I like with a LP .
IMO , it's an average top (both) but acceptably nice .
My problem with buying a guitar from the big box stores is GC and MF don't normally get the "best" from Gibson .
Plus , You can not test it before you buy . So I would figure part of the big picture that you may send it back .