2 Les Paul Juniors, but different weight

habrys

Reaction score
A few months ago i decided to start learning to play guitar - mostly inspired by Rocksmith 2014 reviews. So I'm a complete noob, please be patient with me.

I bought Rocksmith 2014 and separately an Epiphone Les Paul Junior vintage sunburst from an online shop in Germany (very large and pretty respectable one). I love the guitar so far. I think it's amazingly good for an €100 instrument.

Then I started to travel by plane between Germany and Poland so I bought another guitar - an identical Les Paul junior, from the same online store. One stays in Poland, another one in Germany. This way I can practice all the time, no matter where I currently am.

The second one sounds just as fantastic as the first one, everything is all right as far as a noob can tell. But it's substancially heavier. I mean physical weight, not tone.

What the heck? Is it possible, that it's made of another wood despite the fact, that it is exactly the same model bought in the same store?

notjoeaverage

Reaction score
Wood of the same species can have variable weight for the same size piece of lumber.

Wood that grows at different rates, due to climate, rainfall and sunlight, will definitely have different weights.

It is quite normal.

habrys

Reaction score
I was not aware of that, thanks for your explanation.

Still, the difference is very noticable. To the point, that when I pick the lighter one for the first time after practicing for a few weeks on the heavier one it feels almost... hollow. At first I even thought that maybe this little cavity under knobs for wires etc. is bigger or something :)

Anyway as far as I can tell it doesn't affect anything in terms of playability or sound. So, I'm going to just ignore it.

Maybe one day I'll get to it and actually weigh both guitars and compare results. Just out of curiosity...

Thanks again!

RTH

€piphoneWiki Team
V.I.P. Member
Reaction score