120th Anniversary Studio fake?

Nikpaki

Reaction score
Hi all, recently had the oportunity to buy a LP Studio Ebony from 2014 in 600$... i think the price is fair but theres some issues about the guitar that. make me doubt about it... im not an expert on. LP guitars so maybe. you can help me to avoid a potential scam. First of all its an Studio but has the inlay crow not the LES PAUL CHARACTERS. on the head, second. theres a white binding. on the guitar and i thougth that the studios dont have any. of it., the truss rod cover. is blanck, and has zebra hambuckers ..so if you c an help me ill be gratefull... Thank you guys
LP1.jpg
LP2.jpg
LP3.jpg
LP4.jpg
LP5.jpg

Oranjeaap

Reaction score
I have 2 ideas, but I'm not an expert on 2010-2020 Les Pauls so I can be wrong:

1) It's a refinished 2014 LPJ pro or a 2014 LPM.
The neck is correct, the trussrodcover has been changed to hide the original model
Someone added binding and added a gloss finish to make it look more expensive

2) Its a LPJ or LPM neck with a different body

Either way, I don't think $600 is a good deal

Mini Forklift Ⓥ

Reaction score
Well the Studio Ebony model that Gibson did in 2014 looked like this:

I remember some of the ebony Studio's from the 90's having gold knobs and hardware (tailpiece and bridge) and FWIW I have occasionally seen the Gibson 'crown' on Studio models

But pretty sure that none of them had binding... and the zebra pickups and PCB in the cavity? The binding on the one you posted looks off (I'm thinking someone has done this job themselves), and the shape of the 'open book' headstock seems maybe not quite as pronounced as usual? I'm sure others more qualified than me will chime in, but yeah it doesn't quite add up to a guitar that left the factory looking like this

Les Kiwi

Reaction score
Thinking it could possibly be a LP Classic from 2014. The Truss rod cover has definitely been changed and the studios didn't have/don't have binding. Also the gloss top.

Mini Forklift Ⓥ