Your opinions on 1983, 1990-92 prehistorics?

Discussion in 'Historics & Reissues' started by cherrysunburst00, Mar 27, 2017.

1. cherrysunburst00

cherrysunburst00 Senior Member

Hello, Friends. I am finding my R9 neck to be too beefy. R0 is nice, but I like the idea of a "holy grail" R9 with a slightly beefier neck.

My ideal neck is the early '90s LP Standard and Custom (I think it is called "rounded 59").

So, my question is would a prehistoric be more apt to be up my alley? I like 83 because that is the first time Gibson called them "reissue standards" plus it is thr year I graduated high school. I also like 90-92 because those are my 90 Standard and 91 Custom.

My other choices are to give up on owning a 59 reissue and sell the R9, have Historic Makeovers reshape my neck.

2. ARandall

ARandall Senior Member

83's are pretty much a production type guitar, with maybe a few cosmetics like a 2-piece top making them more 'reissue' type.
    In fact the early 90's are about the same.....

If you have a specific target neck in mind, the HM might be the way to go. Scarcity is an issue, and there is no guarantee any of the older guitars have consistent neck shapes making the search possibly long.

3. cherrysunburst00

Thank you AR. I ALWAYS value your input

4. ARandall

ARandall Senior Member

No prob!

The other thing is that you already know the guitar you have. Other than the neck, if its got the feel for the most part, then the neck reshape is the last piece of the puzzle.

5. alnico59

alnico59 Premium Member

I only played one Heritage reissue, 1980 I think? But it was so long ago. Other than it being heavy, I forgot most other specifics about it. However I more recently had the opportunity to play a Guitar Trader '59 flame top reissue from 1984. The neck one that particular guitar was in my mind perfect. I actually was set up to buy it. However in the end another guy wanted it more than me $$$$.

6. jamman

jamman Premium Member