Yet another mix critique thread

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by 6stringer, Dec 27, 2011.

1. 6stringer

6stringer Senior Member

This is a work-in-progress that I'd hoped to be finished with before Christmas. I used VST instruments for Piano, Bass, and Drums. I performed the guitar parts. I'm breaking in some new studio monitors, but I'm fairly new to DAW recording and mixing. My current battle is trying to get a mix that isn't muddy, with all instruments given some elbow room.

Thoughts? Advice?

[sc]http://soundcloud.com/6stringer/o-come-all-ye-faithful-o[/sc]

Leendrix and Strato like this.
  2. 6stringer

6stringer Senior Member

36 views, no replies. I guess I must have nailed it on the first try, then. :laugh2:

3. EvanPC

EvanPC Senior Member

I'm no expert, but to me, it sounds as though the piano is a bit loud in the mix, and coupled with the guitar, it's drowning out the drums. Pretty cool otherwise, though!

4. 6stringer

6stringer Senior Member

Drums have been a battle, I kept pulling them back in the mix so that the cymbals weren't too harsh. I've since adjusted the velocity of certain drum pieces to make the kit more balanced. Thank you for your comment!

5. TKOjams

TKOjams Senior Member

Double track the lead, get an acoustic in there on the rythem with the other guitar .JMO

2 people like this.
  6. hellraiser_666

hellraiser_666 Senior Member

i think it sounds awesome, especially the composition itself

1 person likes this.
  7. 6stringer

6stringer Senior Member

Good call, I actually used Waves 'Doubler' plugin on the lead to try to make it sound a little bigger. I think I still need to tweak it a bit. As far as doubling the rhythm with an acoustic, I might try it as long as I can mix it to where the LP isn't obscuring the acoustic part. Thanks for the comment!

Thanks! I wish I could compose like that, it's actually a cover of a tune by Trans-Siberian Orchestra (TSO). :thumb:

2 people like this.
  8. Strato

Strato Banned