Yamaha THR100HD or Blackstar ID60? - Price not a factor - which is better?

Discussion in 'Amp Modeling' started by yell03, Dec 25, 2015.

  1. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    I am considering a solid state amp Head as a back-up to my Bogner Atma.
    I will run it through an Orange PPC112 cabinet, I have two of those.
    I am looking for ease of use and tone, price is not an object.
    Which is the better amp?
     
    3 people like this.
  2. KenG

    KenG Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,132
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    I can't say having only an ID60 TVP but I will caution using a modelling amp with speakers other than what it was designed for. I like the ID60 TVP with the closed back 12 inch speaker. Plenty of bottom end without being boomy.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Hmm, maybe a combo is the way to go?
     
  4. frankv

    frankv What Are You Waiting For? Premium Member V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    13,903
    Likes Received:
    11,945
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    if you choose wisely... the Solid state amp will be your main amp and the Bogner will become back up.:thumb:
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    I am really liking the concept and simplicity of the Yamaha.
     
    2 people like this.
  6. KenG

    KenG Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,132
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Yes the Yamaha does look a little simpler but I'd wager you'll get more variety on the TVP. Between all the tube amp choices, each of which is different sounding, the ISF which does more than a simple tone control and the 6 voicings you should have no limits to the sounds.
     
  7. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    From the Youtube vids I've heard, the Yamaha sounds better.

    Believe me, for the price difference I want to like the Blackstar better
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. northernguitarguy

    northernguitarguy SWeAT hOg

    Messages:
    25,119
    Likes Received:
    39,039
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    You should buy it, so you can tell us about it!:naughty:
     
    3 people like this.
  9. KenG

    KenG Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,132
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Well the only way to really tell is to play both. I can tell you the ID60 shines more when it's set to play louder than what's generally considered "bedroom friendly". Typically amp modelers perform at any level and kick big amps' butts at super low volume but the ID doesn't model amps it models tube type characteristics and so needs to be played louder for the full effect.
    If you're using it for gigging this really shouldn't be an issue as you'd adjust its settings at levels where it plays best.
     
  10. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    :D

    I do mostly play at lower volumes, so the Yamaha might be a better fit as it has the adjustable wattage
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. El Pablo

    El Pablo Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    First off, both produce high quality tones. These are huge improvements in attempts to emulate tube amp characteristics.

    I love my Blackstar ID60TVP. I'm also a tweaker who uses various soundscapes for artistic creativity. Loads of versatility and fun to experiment with. The huge payoff is not having to hook up a big effects board.

    That being said, Yamaha's concept of blending amp channels is very appealling.

    If mixing amp channells would serve you best, I'd go for the Yamaha. If you want to continue using your own pedals, I would also choose Yamaha. Otherwise for the convenience of an all-in-one unit, I would recommend Blackstar hands down.
     
  12. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    I don't use pedals except for delay.
    I am researching how to store and save 4 channels on the Blackstar.
    If I could make it simple I would consider it.
     
  13. northernguitarguy

    northernguitarguy SWeAT hOg

    Messages:
    25,119
    Likes Received:
    39,039
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    You need to go out and take advantage of a Boxing Day sale! :naughty:
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. jw3571

    jw3571 Senior Member

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    I've been considering the same but also am looking something better at low volumes. How would the ID30 be?
     
  15. KenG

    KenG Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,132
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Basically close lacking in the middle tone control from the front panel but its accessible from a PC. Doesn't have the global resonance and presence controls either which may not be a big deal with the lower power. Same closed back design.
     
  16. Mr. Satchmo

    Mr. Satchmo Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    3,357
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Blackstar hands down. It will sound fantastic through that PPC112
     
  17. Piston Hurricane

    Piston Hurricane Senior Member

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Solid-State vs Modeling, are 2 different animals- But, most Modeling these days are done with Solid-State- Throw tubes into the mix- You have just thrown away the game !

    Tone searching doesn't end, never has nor will it ever ! :shock:

    And......with that being said, I feel all Tube amps should be sent to Me for proper disposal !

    Esp- Hand-wired units !

    :)
    PH
     
  18. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    On the Blackstar, if I program the 4 channels/patches with settings, can I make any changes when I switch to that channel?

    For example, say I use channel 1 as clean, channel 2 as crunch, channel 3 as OD1 and Channel 4 as OD2, but want to add delay or change from el34 to e84, can I do that while retaining the rest of the patch settings?

    Reason I ask, I want to make the 4 channels a simple clean, crunch, lead platform with the tone controls and ISF at noon and let's say 6l6 for all channels.

    Then maybe I will want the lead as el34 for a song, can I switch that on the fly?
     
  19. El Pablo

    El Pablo Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    There are 4 patches per bank (many banks). You can custom each patch to your liking (gain, tube, eq, effects, etc.). With the foot controller, you have instant access to 4 patches. Bank up or down and you get 4 new patches respectivelly. OR, you can switch the foot controller to pedal board mode. This allows you to turn effects on and off per patch (ie, chorus, reverb and delay).

    It's really just a 5 minute learning curve. But yes, you can change up each patch and bank to your liking.
     
  20. yell03

    yell03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    355
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    I did some research on it...

    the problem is, the patches save all the settings and the controls won't respond until you hit the setting that it is at.

    For example, the volume might take a huge spike.

    I want a simple channel selector without saving settings, it does not seem to do that, the Yamaha does.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page