Wondering If These PAFs Are the Real Deal?

Discussion in 'Pickups' started by Tonyd145, Jul 4, 2017.

1. Tonyd145

Tonyd145 Premium Member

IMG_1036.JPG IMG_1037.JPG IMG_1038.JPG IMG_1039.JPG I have a Tokai Firebird that I bought 3 yrs ago. The previous owner told me he had it routed for humbuckers, it had previously had mini humbuckers. I've been thinking of putting minis back in it. When I bought it the owner told me it had Gibson pickups in it, I really didn't think much of it at the time. They were uncovered when I bought the guitar, I like covered pickups so I bought some chrome covers and put them on. That was the first time I had taken a look at the pickups. To my suprise it looks like they are PAF pickups. I'm not sure if they are real. Thought if I shared a few pics maybe someone here can point out if they are the real deal or not. The solder on them is my feeble attempt to solder the covers on.

2. Brutus

Brutus Senior Member

I'm no expert but I believe they're most likely burstbuckers.

3. Kris Ford

Kris Ford Senior Member

Do they smell like hot cheese?

(SERIOUS QUESTION!!)

4. Tonyd145

Tonyd145 Premium Member

I didn't realize they put that sticker on the Burstbuckers. Thanks for the insight.

5. CheopisIV

CheopisIV Copper Slinger MLP Vendor

Yup, I'd bet on Burstbuckers as well. Regardless, that's not a vintage PAF sticker.

Tonyd145 likes this.
  6. LeftyF2003

LeftyF2003 Premium Member

They could also be 57 Classics which also got a PAF sticker (at least mine have them).

[​IMG]

GammyBird and Tonyd145 like this.
  7. Tonyd145

Tonyd145 Premium Member

Thanks Lefty! The one Gibson Les Paul I previously owned never had the pups out to look at them and see that they still put the PAF sticker on them. I should have known that for the price I got my Firebird it didn't have Vintage PAF's. Plus the previous owner is a guitar nerd like most, so he would have known.

8. Kris Ford

Kris Ford Senior Member