[Wiring] Newbie question

Discussion in 'Tonefreaks' started by Ilyes, May 31, 2017.

  1. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Hi guys for a 50's wiring style what kind of cable should I use to connect the 4 pots the yellow one in the picture ?[​IMG]
     
  2. jeffy

    jeffy Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    800
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
  3. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Thanks a lot ! :)
     
  4. yamariv

    yamariv Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    FWIW, I think the original bursts used 19 gauge if you're looking to be super accurate. But yes, 18 gauge will obviously work :)
     
  5. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Ah ok so I'll try to get the .19 one ;)
     
    yamariv likes this.
  6. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Unfortunalty Im living in France and shipping cost are huge 15 $, So I just watched a DIY wiring and the man who post the video said that we can use a guitar string is this possible ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2017
  7. ARandall

    ARandall Senior Member

    Messages:
    11,122
    Likes Received:
    6,278
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Use any wire.
    If you're contemplating using a guitar string accuracy is not important. Find something that will be easy to solder.
     
  8. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Ah nice im happy to learn that thank you
     
  9. Rhust

    Rhust Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,871
    Likes Received:
    2,868
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    yep, this is just a wire to connect everything to a common ground...
     
  10. jeffy

    jeffy Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    800
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    19 AWG is an odd size. I think most aftermarket harnesses use 18 or 20 AWG. The lower the number the thicker the wire. While you could use a guitar string, it's going to be under sized if you don't use a wound string. You're better off using regular insulated wire instead. Braided or solid wire. I'm sure you can get Buss or Insulated wire in France. AWG (American Wire Gauge) can be converted to Metric. 18 - 1.02 mm, 19 - 0.91 mm and 20 - 0.81 mm.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2017
  11. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Oh I completly forgot that I had this wire http://www.guitarnblues.fr/accessoi...mi-2944-2-conducteurs-masse&r=70&c=60&id=7602

    Its says that it can be use as Floating Grounded

    The components of the cable are 2 conductors + a ground, So I can use the entire wire or just the Ground for the Pots ?
     
  12. jeffy

    jeffy Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    800
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Hmm, that's 2 conduit wire. That's what you'd use instead of braided wire. There are two smaller wires and a ground/shield in one conduit. I'd check electronic's store. You need to find one that sells electronic components like switches, capacitors, etc... Buss wire or solid insulated 18 AWD equivalent can't be hard to find.
     
  13. Ilyes

    Ilyes Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    I have also braided wire, Does it works no ?
     
  14. Rhust

    Rhust Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,871
    Likes Received:
    2,868
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    yep, it will work. you wouldn't strip all the insulation off, and you would want to use 3 separate pieces, instead of one piece, but it will totally work. pretty much any wire you have laying around will do the job,
     
  15. jeffy

    jeffy Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    800
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    You can used braided wire. Instead of cutting the wire into three pieces you can strip off the insulation and use one piece as well. Either way will work.
     

Share This Page