Wiring Cabs, Speaker OHMS all in one thread

Discussion in 'The Squawk Box' started by JakeM, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. Dwin

    Dwin Senior Member

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Both V30's in the Lopo are 8Ω and its pre wired from lopo
     
  2. LesPauI+SG=Win

    LesPauI+SG=Win Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Ok, please tell me how this should be. I have 2 4x12's that read 8 ohms. On my amp (Bugera 333xl) there are 2 speaker inputs. There is one selector switch. This switch goes: 4, 8 , 16. If I were to plug both of these cabs in, what would I select on the switch?
     
  3. PapaSquash

    PapaSquash Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Probably 4. The two jacks are most likely wired in parallel. The manual or schematic should tell you this. Two 8ohm cabs in a parallel config gives the amp a 4ohm load.
     
    LesPauI+SG=Win likes this.
  4. LesPauI+SG=Win

    LesPauI+SG=Win Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Is there not a for sure answer man? I don't wanna fry my amp. :(
     
  5. PapaSquash

    PapaSquash Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Bugera 333XL user manual page 6 (item 30)

    "Both the paralleled loudspeaker outputs (1/4 inch mono jacks) are used to connect the speaker cabinets..."

    Set it at 4ohm for both 8ohm for one

    you're welcome.
     
    LesPauI+SG=Win likes this.
  6. LesPauI+SG=Win

    LesPauI+SG=Win Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Thanks dude! You didn't have to look it up for me. Thanks anyway. I seriously appreciate it! :D
     
  7. JakeM

    JakeM Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    293
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Thanks for that papa squash, I missed that. At this stage this sticky is as much yours as mine haha
     
  8. PapaSquash

    PapaSquash Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    I'm nobody's expert - I'm just trying to learn and sometimes a bit leaks out.
     
  9. JakeM

    JakeM Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    293
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Same as myself mate
     
  10. chriseskew24

    chriseskew24 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Ok i have a question. My current rig is a 25 watt phaez amp 25 watts. And I have a 200 watt scumback cabinet I am using is there a problem with this setup? I read both pro and con about under powering speakers. What are your alls thoughts?

    Thanks
     
  11. SludgeBurns

    SludgeBurns Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    255
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Are you talking about the Rooster? Mine is 50 watts with 2 EL34's. :hmm:
     
  12. chriseskew24

    chriseskew24 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008

    Mines 25 with two 6v6 :laugh2:
     
  13. SludgeBurns

    SludgeBurns Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    255
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Ha! Well I guess you can disregard my response to your PM about the tubes then. :laugh2:

    As far as the speaker cabinet goes you shouldn't have any problems with the wattage, especially if you like the tone you're getting. You will probably have a hard time driving the speaker to the break up point though.
     
  14. chriseskew24

    chriseskew24 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Yeah thats what I thought.

    Thanks
     
  15. SGguy

    SGguy Senior Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    I have 4 four ohm speakers that I intend to put in a cab. Is there anyway I can have them in a 4x12 and have one input for 4ohms and another for 16ohms? I will take abstract wirings too.
     
  16. JakeM

    JakeM Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    293
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    SGguy, the third diagram on the first page with the 4 speaker wiring will allow you to have all four speakers at 4 ohms but I'm unsure how to get it to 16ohm from there...
     
  17. SGguy

    SGguy Senior Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    I think what i should ask is: how can I make a 4x12 cab with four 4ohm speakers switchable from series/parallel to series? so i can switch them back and forth or have 2 different inputs.

    EDIT: Never mind my question, I solved my cabinet issues.
     
  18. JakeM

    JakeM Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    293
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    can you upload a pic when you wire it all up??

    jake
     
  19. SGguy

    SGguy Senior Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    I'm not actually wiring anything. I found out the 8ohm cab i have can be used with the amp i'm getting, so i don't have to rewire some spare 4 ohm speakers in it.
     
  20. kick the dog

    kick the dog Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    I'd appreciate your opinions on the topic of total impedance, which has been touched upon previously in this thread. I'm surprised this is just hitting me now, but then I'm not really the "electronic" type: I have an early '80s Legend Super Lead head driving two 2x12 cabs. The head is a hybrid: tube preamp section and SS power section. All speakers are rated 8 ohms. There are two inputs for cabs and the literature states "minimum load- 4 ohms". Speakers in both cabs are wired parallel.
    So each cab has a 4 ohm load. But if the speaker inputs are in parallel, does the minimum load using both remain at 4 ohms or does it go to 2 ohms? Would I be safer rewiring the cabs for series?
    thanks in advance for your help.
     

Share This Page