Will Ghs Fast Fret Damage Your Guitar???

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by jwinger, Jun 15, 2008.

1. jwinger

jwinger Senior Member

Hi, I've been using ghs fast fret for a couple of years approximately every other time I play my guitar to clean the strings. I just want to know, does anybody know if long term or frequent use will cause ANY sort of damage to my les paul. I'd rather have to change the strings once a week than have a product like fast fret damage my fret board or neck or something. I don't know how much you can trust these things. On the other hand I don't want the fret board to dry out, but maybe it would be better to change the strings more often and treat the board once every three months or so??? what do you all think??

2. loaded six string

loaded six string V.I.P. Member

I'd like to know also. Ive been using the same stuff off and on for years. I like the way it makes your strings feel slick. I put it on again right before I put the guitar away, to clean the sweat and oil off of the strings.

3. BCRGreg

BCRGreg V.I.P. Member

Great stuff, NO DAMAGE.

Been using it for many years on my guitars, old and new.

4. AXE

AXE Six String Soldier V.I.P. Member

Tony Iommi swears by it ...

5. Wolf Child

Wolf Child Banned

what about WD-40?

6. Lester B. Flat

Lester B. Flat Senior Member

That's a BIG no-no. It contains silicone.

7. xsouldriverx

xsouldriverx V.I.P. Member

fast fret is great stuff and no damage. i use it more for the feel than the cleaning properties but its great for both

8. Boleskinehouse

Boleskinehouse Senior Member

I hate the shit. I used it for many years, without knowing there was something better. It felt, and smelled, a lot like WD-40 to me. It always left some weird residue all over the fretboard, no matter how much I wiped off.

It might just be my skin chemistry. I dunno...

Bore oil/Fret Dr. is the only thing I'll put on my guitars.

ryanmichael95 likes this.
  9. LoKi

LoKi V.I.P. Member