Which Gibson Les Paul: Traditional, Traditional Pro II or Signature T?

Discussion in 'Gibson Les Pauls' started by beter pan, Jun 17, 2013.

1. beter pan

beter pan Member

I used to own an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top for five years of which I recently sold. It was a decent guitar but you know...
    Next month I am going to buy a Gibson Les Paul, the guitar I have always dreamed of. I saved money, waited long and dreamed a lot for this guitar. I love the warm and creamy and strong sound of Les Paul. However, I am a bit unsure which Gibson Les Paul to purchase. (I'm going to buy this guitar from Thomann, Germany.) I am an amateur player, primarily playing classic rock, blues and hard rock. I am planning to play my guitar through a Marshall DSL 15C amplifier. I am looking for an versatile and reliable guitar, that would last for ages. In line with my budget that is about €1900 ($2530), I got three opportunities:
    - Gibson Les Paul Traditional 2013
    - Gibson Les Paul Traditional Pro II
    and
    - Gibson Les Paul Signature T
    All those three are pretty good guitars, being in the upper strata of Gibson guitars, just below the Customs.

Those below are the things that appeal me in those guitars:
    The Traditional 2013 is appealing because it is the ultimate solid-body, non weight relief Les Paul, that has been sought after for years. It is a "real" Les Paul.
    The Les Paul Traditional Pro II is appealing because it gives the ultimate oppotunity of split coil, with push-push knobs (of which seems like the most handy). Moreover it has the option of 10db boost.
    And the Les Paul Signature T is also another split coil guitar with push-pull knobs. (I am not sure but with the current "signature" series of Gibson, this seems the least appealing. I don't know...)

To be honest, I am betwixt between the Traditional and the Traditional Pro II. I am quite confused. Please help me, and please say something more than "play and choose it".

2. Shogun