Where Do You Play?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Cygnus X-1, Mar 23, 2017.

1. Cygnus X-1

Cygnus X-1 Senior Member

I was curious to know where/how people play? I know some are active in bands and gig, some (like myself) do not. When I was in high school and college I had a band and played shows but that dried up after I graduated and got a job/wife/kids. A few years back I wrote and recorded some tunes on Garage Band but now I’m learning riffs/songs/solos that I thought I wouldn’t be able to handle back when I was a teenager (with an emphasis on :slash:). But I sometimes wonder: do I need a $4500 guitar to do this/just play at home? (Granted I love the damn thing! Maybe I’m being too practical).

2. penguinchit

penguinchit Senior Member

Welcome! If you have a $4500 guitar just for home use and you love it, then you need it. If you don't love it, it could turn into 2 or 3 more guitars.

3. LeftyF2003

LeftyF2003 Premium Member

I play a lot of shows in the summer, the winter not so much. But I still feel justified in all of these :laugh2:

[​IMG]

If you want practical advice you're on the wrong forum!

4. Cygnus X-1

Cygnus X-1 Senior Member

Lol. Nice! BTW I didn't want to sound like an opulent jerk by mentioning the cost of my lefty (which = more expensive) guitar. I was trying to say that since I don't play in front of people maybe I don't need a really good guitar b/c it doesn't matter....?

I guess maybe I'd feel better if I could find a few people to jam with on occasion as I certainly don't have time for a regular band gig. But this is not so easy to do it would seem.

5. LeftyF2003

LeftyF2003 Premium Member

If you love the guitar and you play it, it's worth it. You shouldn't have to play a lesser instrument just because you don't play out.