What's up with this Telecaster plan?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by strömsborg, Jan 3, 2018.

1. strömsborg

strömsborg Senior Member

Am I an idiot or is the below Tele plan incorrect?
    I got it off the internet, had it printed and during the weekend I made some templates. I have an -82 JV Squier Telecaster, a fairly accurate 1952 replica, and for fun I laid my freshly made neck template on top of the Squier neck, and I thought what the f*** is this? The template was half an inch too short.

I double and triple checked every measurement to rule out that the plan had been printed at the wrong scale. The only thing I found is that while the total scale length in the plan is correct the 12th fret is way off. Is the plan worthless or is there something i'm missing? I'm a noob after all.

[​IMG]

2. Mr.Fingers

Mr.Fingers Member

String holes are further to the back ;) About half an inch behind the saddles.

[​IMG]

PierM and dickjonesify like this.

3. The Ballzz

The Ballzz Senior Member

Well, 2 X 316mm = 632mm = 24.88 inches, so you tell me? I would try taking that actual "nut to 12th fret" measurement on both the Squier neck and the template, just for craps and giggles.
    Just Sayin'
    Gene

Last edited: Jan 3, 2018

4. slug_maine

slug_maine Senior Member

Isn't that the 13th fret?

w666 likes this.

5. dickjonesify

dickjonesify Senior Member

It’s the 12th

TDPRI has an excellent Tele plan listed. I’ll link it in a bit...

slug_maine likes this.

6. The Ballzz

The Ballzz Senior Member

Maybe you missed some fine print on the plan, or links to it that list it as a "conversion neck" (24 3/4 inches) plan? Being sent from your phone, I can't expand/zoom it enough to read the details!
    Just Swayin'
    Gene

7. PierM

PierM Black & Gold Premium Member

The saddles are not there where you are measuring. They are before the 6 holes for the strings.

8. The Ballzz

The Ballzz Senior Member