what kind of pick-up would you use?

Discussion in 'Pickups' started by bomberdrummer, Apr 20, 2007.

1. bomberdrummer

bomberdrummer Junior Member

Hey Guys, I'm a newbie to the forum(they wouldn't give me a password on the other one,but thats alright) Listen, I've been refinishing a 1989 Standard and I'm getting down to Pick-ups....I would like your input on what you would put in it....Burst-Buckers?...Seymore Duncan antiquities?...Pearly Gates?....any other brands?.......I know tone is "the thing" and being just a straight forward rock-n-roller I would appreciate any input ya'll might have...I had a 1974 standard(cherry sunburst...stolen what a bummer)...it had the original humbuckers in it..Full sized,not mini's...and that guitar was the best sounding Paul I ever heard..I don't know what Gibson was putting in them at the time but they were sure special....If I could get it even close to that sound it would be great....any input would be welcome...thanks guys .....LONG LIVE LESTER........bomberdrummer

2. Dave Stephens

Dave Stephens V.I.P. Member V.I.P. Member

You should also be open to other products by a good list of smaller pickup makers who are posting here on the forum also, Shed Pickups, myself (of course), WB Pickups, Jon Gundry's work, Motor City Pickups. some of these guys don't do large production runs so you might actually get a more customized product for what you want than off the shelf products from the bigger guys. The fact that they are all here and not censored is pretty unique in the forum world, so you can talk directly to anyone of these guys.......

3. bomberdrummer