What is your Home Recording Set-up?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by SlapChop, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. thedonal

    thedonal Senior Member

    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    I've got a PC with a Digidesign 002 Rack running Cubase SX3 and ProTools 7.something. Got an old Roland XP-10 for keys (had an original Quadrasynth- got destroyed when the arseholes upstairs flooded my flat!!!)

    Mainly use Cubase with lots of plugins.


    I'd say that apart from a decent PC/Mac with a good audio interface, I'd consider a good recording channel (Focusrite or TLA with the digital option), an SM57/58 and a large diaphragm condenser mic.

    Plugins I'd consider essential when recording would be

    Sonnox Collection- fantastic collection of eqs, compressors etc

    Camel Audio plugins- great for twisting sounds

    Synthwise, the Arturia collection (classic sounds) and any Rob Papen stuff, plus either an IK or NI plugins... I'd love a modular synth at some point though...
     
  2. SlapChop

    SlapChop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Thanks for everyone's input. :thumb:

    I picked up a USB Interface over the weekend; a Tascam US144-MKII which came with Cubase 4 LE. For now I'm using a Shure PG58 to mic my Laney Cub 10. The sounds I was able to record were crisp and totally pure.

    I did however run into some problems.... I was able to set everything up and record, but when it came time to playback, I'd get skips and pauses in the audio. Like my laptop couldn't keep up making recording a 2nd track impossible... I tried recording to an external hard drive and to other partitions on my 500 gig HD onboard, but with similar results... My system is a 2 gig dual core AMD with 2 gigs of ram; not entirely archaic by today's standards and definately to spec for the software. Spyware is gone... Virus scan clean...

    Bleh...

    Any tips on how to fix this?
     
  3. Jody

    Jody Senior Member

    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Cool......I have a Fostex VF 160 EX, W/ built in CDR,and effects...
    [​IMG]
    75 Watt Fostex powered monitors.
    AKG headphones.
    MXL ,And NADY Condenser Mics.....
    [​IMG]
     
  4. rullian

    rullian Senior Member

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    My experience with Pro Tools (and this seems like it would apply to any DAW) is that your external drives have to spin at 7200. Plus they have to have a specific chip set. Pro Tools is very picky about the external drive it records to - digidesign has a page with just specs that I copied and pasted to Other World Computing. They picked out some drives for me. Not sure if this is your problem specifically, but thought it may help.
     
  5. thedonal

    thedonal Senior Member

    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Could be a number of things.

    Firstly- possibly a dumb question, but is the correct driver selected for audio? I'd assume so if you're managing to record in, but worth an ask!

    Also- what recording settings are you using (bit depth and frequency)?

    I'd recommend using 24bit 44.1Khz at the most (though your specs should easily be able to use more).

    Finally- you need to look at the driver settings on your audio interface and balance reasonable buffer size to minimize latency, while not taxing the system too much (this could be the main cause of the problem?).
     
  6. SlapChop

    SlapChop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Thanks for chiming in, thedonal. :thumb:

    Drivers are all correct from what I can tell. I followed the instruction book to set those up (a new concept for me). :laugh2:

    Recording settings were set at the minimum in Cubase.

    I didn't check the driver settings on my interface. That's where I'll look first. Thanks for that suggestion! I was also advised by a co-worker, who's a recording guru and he said I should download the latest drivers and not just use the ones that came on the Tascam CD.

    I should also note that I was getting audio skip through the Tascam while simply playing MP3's in Media Player, so latency issues with the interface seem completely logical.
     
  7. thedonal

    thedonal Senior Member

    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Cool- you should be able to access the driver's control panel via the Cubase options if necessary, or from your system control panels folder.

    Yeah- always get the latest drivers.

    Also, have you checked on the Tascam or Steinberg website re any known issues? Could provide some helpful advice (though it can be tricky, as the variables in software/hardware can make exact answers difficult)
     
  8. piperindebt

    piperindebt Senior Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Hey guys, you're set up are great :p wish I have those.
    for me, I'm using basic setup, really for personal use.
    LP--->(Optional) Guitar effects-->Toneworks PX4D---> Splitter---->
    1) PC/Desktop (Mixcraft)
    2) Studio Earphones

    That's it.
     
  9. SlapChop

    SlapChop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    I tested all 5 latency settings on the Tascam unit with none of them solving my problem. Maybe my system is bogged down somehow...

    Going to have the machine looked at by a tech savy friend. If that doesn't work, I've already backed up all important documents and I'll just format and re-install Windows...

    Maybe I should just buy a Mac. :)
     
  10. decoy205

    decoy205 Senior Member

    Messages:
    7,837
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Here's where I can be creative...:thumb:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. eldiablo

    eldiablo Senior Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    You can make really good recordings these days with very little.
    Especially if your just going the classic Guitar, bass, Drums and vocals route

    a decent CPU
    a DAW
    an Instrument input device(sound card)
    a Drum software for beats
    a Guitar, Bass, and Mic...

    Once you learn the basics you can add to your studio little by little.

    To me Recording Gear GAS is worse then Guitar GAS...
    There is just so much gear you'll want... and it's $$$

    For me I like keeping it Digital and in the Box as they say.
    Virtual Software and Guitar modeling(can you say Axe-FX Ultra?)
    have come a long long way.

    Here is a horrible iPhone pic of my current little home studio.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. PINKBITS

    PINKBITS Senior Member

    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    466
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Guitar-Line 6 X3 Live-Computer. Simple as hell but shit it's fun. :dude:
     
  13. PINKBITS

    PINKBITS Senior Member

    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    466
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Mate that last clip of yours that you posted was just shit hot, seriously :dude: :dude: :dude:
     
  14. stinger

    stinger Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,498
    Likes Received:
    229
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Go to this site. Join the forum and ask some of the experts what they think might be your problem.

    Audio Recording | Home Digital Music Production, Studios, Software

    Also, the web owner has written a series of home recording books. The first book in the series is free and might be worth your effort to download and read. It's all about setting up and might give you some insight on what you need concerning a DAW.
     
  15. decoy205

    decoy205 Senior Member

    Messages:
    7,837
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Thanks dude! They are downloadable now if you want to actually keep the files. :dude:

    I still have to check out the clips you posted. I was posting on my iphone this week and can't get soundclick on there.

    -John
     
  16. SlapChop

    SlapChop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Thanks Decoy, I took your advice and made a post there. :thumb:
     
  17. decoy205

    decoy205 Senior Member

    Messages:
    7,837
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    I think you meant to thank Stinger! Good luck!
     
  18. SlapChop

    SlapChop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Yes, thanks Stinger!
     
  19. hillbilly

    hillbilly V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    270
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Set up at my drummer's house. Everything's mic'd, plugged in & ready to go.

    • MacBook running 10.6.2 & GarageBand
    • ART PreAmp & Compressor.
    • PreSonus 8-input FireWire unit.
    • Tracks sent to a separate 250gig hard drive.
    • 57's, condensers, drum mics.
    I don't spend too much time on tones or sounds right away; I concentrate on levels. We play/record live with no over-dubs, so we don't use headphones. I use the ART PreAmp & Compressor more for "protection" than anything else. When I go into GarageBand to mix, there are more than enough tools/plug-ins that I can tweak sounds to my liking. For example, we don't need a fancy bass guitar rig---just get the signal to disk, and there's quite a few great bass (or guitar) amp simulators within GarageBand to get awesome bass sounds.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]






    [​IMG]







    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


     
  20. SlapChop

    SlapChop Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Ok, ditched the Tascam, they don't like my computer. If you've got a Turion 64 Processor, stay away.

    I picked up a Presonus Audiobox USB and it's working flawlessly! Software is Studio One and it's great so far too. Lots of guitar effects included, EZ Drummer light came with it, Guitar Rig, cool shit. I'm stoked to get recording! Thanks for all the suggestions guys.
     

Share This Page