What do you guys think?

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by PJM, Oct 21, 2012.

1. PJM

PJM Senior Member

This one has been on craigslist for a while, kind of sketchy details says its a 63' special. He just moved the price from $2100 to $900. It's been up for quite a while (couple months at least). Was wondering if this would be a good time to make an offer. I can't estimate the value of a guitar that's been this modded. Any insight would be appreciated.
    These are all the pics i have-

Attached Files:

1 person likes this.
  2. geochem1st

geochem1st V.I.P. Member

That's not a '63 special.

3. Will55555

Will55555 Member

Looks a bit dodgy to me anyway. I would ask for more info and more pics if I was you. Some of the guys here would surely be able to help. I'm no expert so good luck man!

4. lunchbox

lunchbox Senior Member

I disagree.

Dot inlays, button tuners, wraparound bridge, no headstock decoration thing (forget what it's called).

It's been routed for a hummers, a 3rd pup route/added, has a cut up Standard pickguard, and the early '70's style half moon plate added around the knobs.

What's the serial #?

1 person likes this.
  5. PJM

PJM Senior Member

No serial number included in the listing, waiting for an email back. I'm starting to think it is really not a early 60's either because of the black plate under the knobs, looks more 70's to me. Waiting for the owner to sender more pics as well.

6. Core

Core Senior Member

That looks like a 63 to me, looks a lot like my 63 junior that's been modified for humbuckers.

Tell-tale signs are deep bevels in the horns, the neck joint, the headstock logo (mid 63 w/o the les paul script), no volute but appears to be a hefty neck.

Looks like someone added the middle pickup and added the guard around the dials as well the suedo batwing. Looks like custom made plastic. My junior is very similar. Done in the 70's as all the work looks old.