What Are You Recording With?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Skintaster, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. Skintaster

    Skintaster V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    20,521
    Likes Received:
    44,293
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    What are y'all using to record your music? I use Propellerhead's Reason/Record. Like both a lot. Used to use Garageband... It's a good program, but I thought it was a little limited.

    Anyone still recording to tape? If not, what Daw are you using?
     
  2. LeftyF2003

    LeftyF2003 Premium Member

    Messages:
    6,996
    Likes Received:
    7,688
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    REAPER - easy, stable, inexpensive. Everything Cubase is not -:lol:
     
  3. PraXis

    PraXis V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    24,873
    Likes Received:
    24,248
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Adobe Audition for software.. hardware = peavey mixer for my SM57 for guitar, di box for my bass, keyboard either midi or direct in, and drums Alesis SR-18.
     
    Lpendes likes this.
  4. Nicky

    Nicky On The Road Less Traveled Premium Member

    Messages:
    16,890
    Likes Received:
    24,939
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Pro Tools 8LE. Sometimes SONAR 8.5PE.
     
  5. bgillie

    bgillie Senior Member

    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Pro Tools 9
     
  6. mattinthehat7492

    mattinthehat7492 Senior Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Software: Reaper
    Hardware: everything (amps drums) mic'd up into behringer eurarack mx2004a mixer, through usb soundcard into the PC.
     
  7. lp_junkie

    lp_junkie Senior Member

    Messages:
    10,573
    Likes Received:
    476
    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    for demos or just goofing around either Cubase or Garageband, but if it's something that's serious Logic Pro 9.

    My interfaces are 3 Presonus firewire (8 in/out each) for a total of 24 in/out, I am looking for a new control surface maybe going Presonus with it as well.
     
  8. SkunkWorks

    SkunkWorks Senior Member

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Great River (ME-1NV)
    Radial (JDI, X-Amp)
    RME (Fireface)
    Empirical Labs (Distressor)
    Sansamp (RBI)
    Shure (SM57, SM7B)
    Sennheiser (MD441, MD421)
    Rode (NT1-A)
    Oktava (MK-319, MK-219, MK-012)
    Cascade (Fathead II)
    Urei (LA-4)
    API (512C)
    Behringer (Ultra-G)

    Adobe Audtion 3
    Cubase 5
     
  9. Nigel T.

    Nigel T. Senior Member

    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    238
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    I'm exclusively on Apple's Logic Pro. As interfaces I use a MOTU828 when I am at home or onstage, and a Tascam US-144 when going to rehearse or for small stages.

    Most of the time I record guitar through Amplitube as it gives me the chance to change things I don't like sound wise. Same with the Hammond (my real Hammond is for onstage, recordings through VB3 or B4).
     
  10. bscenefilms

    bscenefilms Premium Member

    Messages:
    8,748
    Likes Received:
    18,958
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    I use Logic 9 and PT9. Various IO depending on what needs done.
     
  11. LIBERTYMACHINE

    LIBERTYMACHINE Banned

    Messages:
    5,672
    Likes Received:
    7,934
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Nuendo version 1.6 , Tascam Porta One 4 track for interface/mixer, a junky ass Dell laptop and 4 Shure sm57 mics. Yeah, I know that this shite is old, but it gets the job done for me (and especially 4 my garage metal band)
     
  12. hellraiser_666

    hellraiser_666 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    77
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Ableton Suite 8
    Protools 8 le
    Reason 5
    Cubase 5

    ableton is probably the best in my opinion, just the easiest one to use, might not be the best quality for mixing but for getting ideas down. its absloutly awesome
     
  13. pentat0nicc

    pentat0nicc Senior Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    just got going with this....

    I use Ubuntu Studio 10.10, with Ardour to record.
    Tascam US100 USB preamp/sound interface and SM57 mic

    So far so good......
     
  14. spiderdeluxe

    spiderdeluxe Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    PT8 and a Digi 002
     
  15. spiderdeluxe

    spiderdeluxe Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    oh and an i7 and MXL 9000
     
  16. oldaxeman

    oldaxeman Senior Member

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    presonus firewire hardware and reaper software both easy fast and affordable
     
  17. moff40

    moff40 Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    961
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Mine is primarily a woodshedding/writing studio. So far, I've been able to track whatever I've needed, but I wouldn't do a "legit" mix there. I used to use a Digi 001 and Protools LE, but when I went to Mac, I also went to Logic Express 8.

    I still use Logic Express 8, and have Superior Drummer, Mojo Horns, Amplitube, Amplitube SVX plugins. For monitoring, I use NS10Ms, powered by an '80s Harmon-Kardon stereo amp. I use a US144 interface for input/MIDI. If I need more inputs, L&M is not far - I'll rent, but I find that Superior Drummer pretty much eliminates my need to track real drums.

    For mixes, I have access to a local commercial studio that uses Logic Studio and has a great mix/mastering room.
     
  18. Thundergod

    Thundergod Senior Member

    Messages:
    10,823
    Likes Received:
    10,991
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    I've used Nuendo for 5 or 6 years... before that I used Cubase, both are great but the upgrade for Nuendo costs more than what some of the newer DAWs cost... so I recently bought Logic Studio (9) and am while it's not as high end I am liking it enough that I'm thinking on using it as the main recording software at the studio.

    I'll miss some of Steinberg's tools and features that were the same in both nuendo and cubase, but the interface in logic is a lot more friendly, also most people here know how to use it, as oposed to Nuendo (sometimes I feel like Im the only one who uses that sh_t anymore :'( )
     
  19. SkunkWorks

    SkunkWorks Senior Member

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    I just ripped one of those apart a couple of days ago for parts to use on a motorized and electronically controlled camera slider I'm building... there's some good stuff in there ;)

    tascam-p1.jpg
     
    LIBERTYMACHINE likes this.
  20. Freddy G

    Freddy G V.I.P. Member

    Messages:
    9,400
    Likes Received:
    17,638
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Cubase 5 with waves V7 plugs
    Pro Tools 8 with 2 digidesign 192 i/o boxes
    Otari 1/4" reel-reel at 15ips

    my go to set-up is cubase, I use it every day
     

Share This Page