Useful guitar tips you wish you knew when you started playing

Discussion in 'Guitar Lessons' started by jguitarnash, Jul 23, 2009.

1. jguitarnash

jguitarnash Senior Member

Lets share some tips that you find extremely useful. Mine is Use your volume and tone controls. I know some guys who "set it and forget it" and I think you really miss out on a variety of sounds if You do that.

fjabjr, JMAnz, Thumpalumpacus and 6 others like this.
  2. JohnQ

JohnQ Senior Member

I'm a newb when it comes to playing guitar but here's my recommendation-

When you go pick out an amp skip the effects. When I first got started I bought a Vox DA5, nice little amp but for the same price I could have bought a small tube amp. I don't have a tube amp yet but will as soon as I get rid of this Vox.

So skip the SS amps with effects and get a tube amp. As a beginner you shouldn't be worried too much about effects anyway.

3. jguitarnash

jguitarnash Senior Member

So you think effects should be brought in sparingly as a beginner progresses?

4. JohnQ

JohnQ Senior Member

Well, drawing from my limited experience only, I would say yes. I really think the $100 I spent on the Vox DA5 would have been much better spent on a tube amp. At times I found myself going back and forth with the settings on the DA5 trying to get a certain tone instead of just playing my guitar and using my guitar to shape the tone.

What I have done is to set the DA5 on a "no effects" setting and leave it there. For the "extras" I recently bought an inexpensive RP90 effects pedal that will allow me to experiment with different pedal sounds every now and then instead of buying more expensive pedals I might not like. It is much more versatile than the DA5.

I guess what I'm saying is that if you want to experiment with different pedals, a modeling amp isn't (in my opinion) the best way to pursue that.

5. Greg's Guitars

Greg's Guitars Senior Member