Tweaking my Epi Les Paul Special II

Discussion in 'Epiphone Les Pauls' started by apd2010, Nov 11, 2010.

1. apd2010

apd2010 Junior Member

First, I'm fully aware I bought myself cheap guitar ($150 new in 2009), but it seems to me that if I could fix two playability problems it has, it wouldn't be half bad. I'm a beginner so I don't deserve a better guitar just yet.

Anyhow, here's what I'd LOVE fixed:

1. It won't stay in tune. From what I've read the stock tuners are crap, is my only option to spring $50 for some grovers? What about a locking nut?

2. The action is great (low) for the first couple of frets up from the nut, but by the time you get halfway up the neck the strings get pretty high off the fretboard. I tried lowering the bridge, but I get some bad fret buzz if I lower it to the point where the action mid-neck is acceptable. Would replacing the nut with a higher one help to get the strings more parallel to the fretboard, or do I need to have someone who knows what they're doing (probably not me) monkey around with the truss rod?

I'm not adverse to spending a little money to fix this puppy up, but given the cheapness of the guitar to begin, I'm looking to keep it on the cheap a well.

Any thoughts??

Thanks,
    Adam

2. maxxi

maxxi Senior Member

take it to a guitar shop for a complete setup.
    costs you about 30-50 bucks, but at least your guitar will be set up 100% correct:slash:

if you really want to fiddle with it yourself i can suggest following things:

try putting some graphite in the nut slots, this prevents the strings from binding in the nut and helps with your tuning problems.

also try to adjust your truss-rod, if you never done this before i suggest you take it to the shop anyway. because when you overtighten it you can damage your guitar neck.

hope this info helps you:)

3. apd2010

apd2010 Junior Member

Thanks--I think that's probably wise advise. I like to tinker but no sense risking making the problem worse. . .

4. gearhead63