Transparent Boost Pedal Recommendations

Discussion in 'Pedals' started by Jack S., Jul 5, 2017.

1. Jack S.

Jack S. Senior Member

I'm looking for a boost pedal for my pedalboard that won't add distortion, but will just make my guitar louder for solos. I was thinking the Xotic RC Booster might be the way to go. I'm looking for something with a lot of gain. Please let me know if you have anything else you'd recommend, or if you think the Xotic pedal isn't what I'm looking for.

2. NotScott

NotScott Silver Supporter Premium Member

This isn't the cheapest but, I have been using it live for over three years now and it works flawlessly:

https://www.suhr.com/electronics/pedals/boost/suhr-koko-boost/

I like to put it through an FX loop and use the clean boost side as a solo boost. If I don't need a solo boost function, I run it through the amp's front end and use the mid boost as a way to fatten leads and take them over the top. I also use it as the last device on my pedal board to serve as a buffer for longer cables. This has plenty of gain, even in the transparent boost mode.

It will run true bypass or buffered and can be remotely controlled as well. It is a very well thought out unit that sounds great.

bulletproof and RAG7890 like this.
  3. DarrellV

DarrellV Likes > Posts Silver Supporter Premium Member

I'll just give nod to the TC Sparkboost. Been using it for some time.
    I like the dual function switch on it that works either as momentary or latch depending on how you use it.
    I think it's 20dBs of gain....

penguinchit likes this.
  4. sonar

sonar Senior Member

Big fan of the Xotic stuff. I've got a Custom Shop BB Pre, EP booster and SP compressor.

The BB Pre is the most transparent and versatile, with an ever so slight mid hump. It's as good a Preamp pedal as I've heard.

The EP adds some body to the signal, and is addictively fun for a boost.

and the SP... is a compressor.

pillbug and bulletproof like this.
  5. Rich