Total noob about home recording, need help

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Ham sandwich, Dec 5, 2016.

1. Ham sandwich

Ham sandwich Junior Member

Ok, so as the title states I am a total noob when it comes to home recording. I would like to record some stuff at home and have been reading/researching but still have questions so I figured I'd post here......any help I could get would be most appreciated so thanks in advance!

Here's what I have and what I want to do:
    guitar(s)/bass guitar
    amp
    PC
    some pedals and a Digitech effects pedal

What I'd like to do:
    Lay down some guitar and bass tracks.
    Somehow throw in some drum tracks

Questions:

Well, where do I go from here?

I have 2 kids so setting up a mic in front of an amp for recording may not work at times, what are my options?

Will buying something like the Zoon r8 multitrack recorder work for what I want to do?

One site I was reading seemed to have a multi step set up such as an audio interface, DAW software, plugins.

What's the best course of action and is there a primer I can read somewhere? Thanks in advance for helping to clarify some stuff for me.

2. dmoss74

dmoss74 Senior Member

realistically, your best bet is going to be a pc (or laptop) daw-centric setup. that will include an interface of some kind, maybe a mic (for when you can use it), a daw (reaper has a very lengthy free trial period), and some plugins, or hardware based guitar effects (for when you can't use a mic).

your main amount of time will be spent on the learning curve, if you've never done any of this before. it's not rocket science, per se, but it can get quite involved, if you want to get really nice sounding recordings.

plus, you'll need some kind of drum software, or learn how to use free loops for drum tracks. i think there are some free drum samplers/modelers, but the better ones cost some dough.