Tone controls and Alnico II Pro pickups

Discussion in 'Tonefreaks' started by andy007, Dec 2, 2017.

  1. andy007

    andy007 Senior Member

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    My Les Paul has Seymour Duncan Alnico II Pros in neck and bridge. I also have an RS Guitarworks modern kit installed. I only play with the tone knobs rolled all the way down to zero. Sounds great that way. If I turn the tone knob past 3 it sounds horrible. It sounds like I'm playing through an amplified transistor radio that is located at the other end of a drain pipe that runs under the road. I can't believe anybody could possibly find an application where that sound would be deemed appropriate. I've always avoided the problem by rolling the tone completely off. This can't be normal . . . or can it?
     

  2. ARandall

    ARandall Senior Member

    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    7,539
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    I would be checking your wiring. I assume it is only that guitar, and others are ok.
     
    JohnnyN likes this.

  3. Zoobiedood

    Zoobiedood Senior Member

    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    I love the Alnico II Pros, and use the tone control a lot. But I only turn it all the way down for a very specific effect, and not for just normal playing. So what you are describing doesn't sound right. I would look over the wiring...make sure the coils of each pickup are connected in series and working. You can test this by wiring 1 pickups at a time directly to the jack and see what kind of sound you are getting. The tone should be full and warm, like 2 giant sticks of butter.
     
    yamariv likes this.

  4. JohnnyN

    JohnnyN Old School Premium Member

    Messages:
    4,558
    Likes Received:
    12,882
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    +1 Definitely sounds like a wiring problem.
     

  5. yamariv

    yamariv Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    715
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    It's probably not the pickups as I cannot relate at all with my Slash Pups and 50's wiring. They are great sounding pickups, sounds like a big wiring issue....did you do the install?
     

  6. andy007

    andy007 Senior Member

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    I had a luthier do the install several years ago. I'm more capable now so I will check the wiring this weekend. Yeah, I'm going to assume it's the wiring and I've left it that way all these years. This is my only guitar (that actually works) so I didn't have anything to compare it to.
     

  7. ARandall

    ARandall Senior Member

    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    7,539
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Then you cannot assume that the guitar is the only culprit.

    Maybe you can borrow/beg a guitar and another cable to check out what the situation is with that setup. Amps are not immune to issue.
     
    JohnnyN likes this.

  8. grayd8

    grayd8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Try turning the gain down a bit?

    Honestly the APH is a pretty warm low output pickup. The amp may be the culprit, I felt this way when i was playing through a DSL.
     

  9. andy007

    andy007 Senior Member

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    I checked the wiring and it looks good. I'm playing with a very high amp so that must be the culprit.
     

  10. Al Walker

    Al Walker Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Pictures of the control cavity wiring would help. Sounds dumb ,but, sounds like each pickup is out of phase. But, I have never heard of each pickup being out of phase at the same time.
     

  11. andy007

    andy007 Senior Member

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    I have several RS Guitarworks pre-wired kits for future builds. I'm just going to remove everything from the control cavity and replace it with a pre-wired kit.
     
    yamariv likes this.

Share This Page