Tips on how to relic/age a road worn strat

Discussion in 'Fender' started by eddiepj10, Dec 2, 2009.

1. eddiepj10

eddiepj10 Senior Member

Hey everyone. I'm going to purchase a 60's road worn strat and I wanna age it even further to make it look like the hottest Strat ever, in my opinion, Mike Mccready's 1959 sunburst... Any tips on how I may best go about getting the results that I'm after??? Here are some pics of the results that I am chasing...
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Any help would be greatly, greatly appreciated...

retrobob likes this.
  2. djwilbanks

djwilbanks V.I.P. Member

Good lord!

Just take out the electronics and drag it behind a truck down a dirt road. :rofl:

3. jomo

jomo V.I.P. Member

Wrap sand paper around your arms, and waist and play it a bunch. :laugh2:

4. eddiepj10

eddiepj10 Senior Member

Worth considering...:laugh2:

I have no experience at all doing this sort of stuff on purpose. My Les Paul is aging nicely, but all its dings and fading and wear are from playing and gigging.

5. diceman

diceman V.I.P. Member

Scrape, scuff, and bump it in to shit. That is how the original got its marks - try to recreate it.

I didn't go quite that far with my Roadworn - but I did a bit extra to it as well.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

6. eddiepj10

eddiepj10 Senior Member

Looks sweet diceman. Thanks for the tip man.

7. djwilbanks

djwilbanks V.I.P. Member

Take your pick and just scrape back and forth above pickguard like you were playing.

Or you could try and create something I had in mind... something like a wirebrush for a drill, but instead of wire it's made of picks. :thumb:

DaveThePius and pnuggett like this.
  8. eddiepj10

eddiepj10 Senior Member

The pick idea is great. Don't mind the drill either, but didn't Paul Gilbert do something like that once... :hmm:

9. djwilbanks

djwilbanks V.I.P. Member