Thoughts about strings.... Rotosound content

Discussion in 'Tonefreaks' started by 5F6-A, Nov 15, 2017.

1. 5F6-A

5F6-A Senior Member

My experience with strings in general and Rotosound strings in particular has been quite an interesting one. I started playing them in the mid-90s as they were fairly affordable here in the UK. Also they were played by many big names. I remember artists as diverse as Iron Maiden or The Edge from U2 speaking highly of them. I can recall noticing The Edge's Rotosound endorsement inside my vinyl copy of the Joshua Tree LP. I was so happy that I was using the same strings as good old David Evans! I remember buying sets of Rotos in boxes of 10 sets. I loved the fact that I could find them easily in any and every music shop in England. They always sounded okay to me. Kind of not as bright as some of their American brands and with a slight hump in the high-mids but I suppose that was part of the British sound.

Then I moved to different brands when I moved to the continent. Fenders tended to be quite popular and the nickel strings sounded very good. GHS were good too although much harder to find. Thomastik-Infeld were fantastic sounding but very expensive. I even used gold plated Maxima strings for a while. There were also very expensive and I couldn’t justify the extra cash. They also look too blingy. In the end, I started using D’addarios. They were priced right, easy to find and pretty reliable. Rotosounds were very difficult to find in Europe so I didn’t bother. Also in my mind, Rotosounds were your typical, run-of-the-mill, working class British strings. Good, solid, dependable but not particularly fancy.